RSS Feed

It’s Not Your Time To Go

I got up in the morning, oh! What a gloomy day

Nothing to look forward to, just more bad news pouring my way

Yesterday I was officially declared bankrupt

With no money, future looking bleak, don’t be surprised if my
talk seems a little abrupt

People are calling trying to reach me, most to vent their
anger and some to give me hope

Lot of pent up frustrations, this feeling of absolute failure,
how will I cope?

I want to end my life…..

(No wait I won’t end my life, not like this, not without giving a fight

and making sure there was never any hope

If there was my loved one in my place,  would I have taken a step back

and let him lose this battle and reach for the fire, track or rope?

No I would have helped him; given him hope,

told him to pick up whatever is left start fresh

Told him in spite all the humiliations and taunts,

that promising tomorrow will come and not to give up
on something so precious

Asked him what he would like to be remembered as –a man who gave up too soon

Or someone who bounced back every time life threw him down,

for he was a fighter not a loon)

I had the worst possible night of my life; I was coming back
from a club

Some perverts attacked me and robbed me of everything and let
me to die in a dense shrub

Some people took pity on me and took me to the hospital

Where I was told how lucky I was, to not have injuries too
fatal,

The police asked me to describe in detail the entire ordeal

While my body will recuperate, my soul will never get over this;
don’t think it will ever heal

Some people are enraged over what happened to me, some are
trying to give me hope

But I just want to be alone, can’t bear this crowd, If only I
could elope

I want to end my life…..

(No wait I won’t end my life, not like this, not without giving a fight

and making sure there was never any hope

If there was my loved one in my place would I have taken a step back

and let her lose this battle and reach for the fire, track or rope?

No I would have helped her; given her hope told her to start fresh

Told her that what the perverts did was to rob her of material beings

 and hurt her flesh

And for that pain and hurt she will have to stand up against them and speak out

But if she chooses to end her life today she will be the one to let down

and leave her soul in a spiritual drought

I would have reminded her of all her dreams, aspirations and goals

and the fights so far

There was no way one bad incident was going to ruin her promising life

and leave a permanent scar)

I am waiting for the news eagerly; my exams results are going to be out

I have not done so well, and I don’t think I will flunk but I do have my doubts

Please god let me be the first one to see my results before
anyone else can

I don’t want to be scolded or chided in front of the entire clan

Oh no, I don’t like the look on my father’s face I think I
have failed, again

I will be scolded, mocked, ridiculed, oh god spare me the pain

No one ever understood me; my problems were never of their
concern

All their wishes were to be my command with no respect to what
I wanted to learn

I want to end my life…..

(No wait I won’t end my life, not like this, not without giving a fight

and make sure there was never any hope

If there was my loved one in my place would I have taken a step back

and let him lose this battle and reach for the fire, track or rope?

No if it had been my younger brother or sister I would have told them to try again

And this time to fight with all they had, focus on their goals and not bother about the inane

And if they wanted to be taken seriously I would tell them to prove themselves

with their hard work and abilities

If they were feeling ignored or not being listened to,

I would suggest they speak out and learn to share responsibilities)

 As long as there is life
there will be thorns and roses,

You may Rise and fall, have
profits and loses

What you do with your life
will always be in your hand

One life so precious, learn,
absorb all that you can and let your skill expand

So what if there were hardships,

 so what if you met too many obstacles?

Yes you have been hurt and cheated but don’t let it touch your spirit;

 don’t let them be your shackles.

Every time you have been wronged,

every time someone violates your rights

That is when you need to pull yourself,

 be just and brace your self for the fights

Every time you have failed to achieve what you set out to,

or caused a huge loss

Remember you are not the only one hurt,

pick up and start and work for the cause

STAND UP, SPEAK OUT, FIGHT
WITH ALL YOU HAVE, HANG ON AND BE BRAVE

GET ALL THE HELP YOU CAN,
WORK HARD AND START A NEW INSPIRING WAVE

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

13 responses »

  1. I knew you were awesome…but you could have told me you were way awesome.🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh, Soma, this is beautiful and profound; you send a most important message of just how precious life is…I have known 2 people who have taken their own life. One was 14 yrs old and a very close friend of my son’s. That happened two years ago; to this day it is still a shock as he and his family were “perfect.” The other was a man around my age who was having difficulty in his job…it’s just so very sad and tragic and if only everyone could reach out and those who are hurting would know there are hands to grasp for help. Thanks, Soma, love and hugs to you! xx

    Reply
    • Oh that is sad…every one of us has their demons its just people think those who are well dressed or have expensive everything are happy..and they may or may not be that..
      i hope every weak heart has a helping hand in those trying times.
      thank you so much Lauren🙂

      Reply
  3. Itna dard bhara tha dil me
    Ke marna aasan lagne laga
    Ek maasum bache ke haath me
    Jab kitabho ke jagai
    Bheek ki kattori dekha
    Tho maine socha
    Kya mai is pyaari kali ke liye
    kuch kar sakthi hu
    Agar haan tho
    Kya mere naa hone se
    Badkar koi zulm hosaktha hai
    Us pal se
    Jeena aasan lagne laga…

    Reply
  4. This poem was so beautifully written Soma. We should all be on board for helping anyone with such deep, dark and hopeless thoughts. Such an important subject to write about, I admire you so much Soma for writing this. How sad for anyone to have their spirit so broken to think suicide is an answer. It’s a topic that sure needs addressed and talked about more often. Wonderful writing Soma!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Gabby this was one of my first poems..thank you so much for reading it..you are such a sweetheart always supporting and encouraging others.
      love ya🙂

      Reply
  5. Pingback: A Gem Called Life « somkritya

  6. very rightly said soma…let not setbacks touch the spirit…..yea v all hv our share
    of ups n downs..but to keep on moving in itslelf a life lived its worth ……your words are very uplifting…..hugggsss….to u dear….

    Reply
  7. Hii Soma…I was feeling very low since morning…..but as you have rightly said…let it not touch your spirit……these woeds intilled in me renewed energy and hope to take on yet another day……huugggsssssss

    Reply
  8. Remember you are not the only one hurt,pick up and start,and work for the cause.Very well said.It lifts the soul.

    Reply
  9. extremely relevant and very well written!

    Reply

Word Hug

