RSS Feed

One Cuppa Life

As I take a sip of the fresh brew          

Its aroma hits my senses

What is it about a hot cuppa?

That relaxes you and shakes your grey cells,  

Both at the same time

And I look at the warmth of the cup and wonder

This tea certainly has a strong character

And a sweet soul

Will I be able to do justice to it?

Will I be able to utilize its strength to the fullest?

Will its sweetness keep my bitter memories at bay?

Have I been fair to it so far?

What if in the last few sips it loses its taste,

Becomes bland and cold?

Will it be the teas fault or mine?

For I let it sit idle, same age old mistake of not jiving with time

There were other invites, full of warmth and promises

And I chose this one

It demands certain pace and respect for the all things hot

When I finish, will the cup be clean and empty, may be a small drop left

Or will the cream of what I could have had, be in the cup still?

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

5 responses »

  1. I was sent here by Indira of http://amaltaas.wordpress.com/, and thanks to both of you- this is such a beautiful read! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Chai, that most wonderful of beverages. At war the one thing that kept my soul intact next to God was chai.
    Miss Soma, you are a gifted wordsmith.

    Reply
  3. Thanks a ton for such warm encouraging word hug 🙂

    Reply
  4. A most wonderful piece of poetry my friend,
    and how passionate thou art about a simple
    cup of tea 🙂

    Your writing of poetry is
    likened to that delicious
    taste of freshly made tea 🙂

    Quality is in the tasting, as
    is the reading of fine poems…

    Androgoth Xx

    Reply

Word Hug

