RSS Feed

Daddy Longlegs

Daddy Longlegs was sitting on his net and browsing through his past

He wanted to do something which would make him big pretty fast

 

He looked around and saw a fly buzzing around

Suddenly his brain was shaken by ideas abound

 

Hi said Daddy long legs, it’s nice to see you miss fly

Do come to my web and give it a try

 

I am well aware of my ill reputation

That is why am sending you an open invitation

 

Bring in  media if you still have some doubts

I hope it will douse your fears if you have them as scouts

 

Hesitant at first the fly still agreed to meet

She never knew a spider can be so generous and sweet

 

Fly was warned of spider’s ill intentions and of the
agendas hidden

But isn’t there a charm in exploring the forbidden!

 

I will bring in reporters said the confident fly

That should take care of the spider’s greed and make him shy

 

In front of a huge crowd fly stepped in on the web

Daddy long legs grabbed the fly before she could ebb

 

Crunch munch he ate the fly in front of the crowd so huge

People were shocked but still stood like a stooge

 

Daddy long legs was arrested later and sent to a jail

Where he wrote a book on life in prison and law being frail

 

The book generated lot of interest and became a best seller

It got lot of publicity as it was written by a spider so Heller

 

Daddy got pardoned as fly knowing all willingly fell in his trap

Hence it was declared a suicide and the case against him was scrapped

 

I guess dark is alluring as Daddy’s website has become quite a hit

But there are people who throng the site just for the
silken threads and their steely grit.

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

18 responses »

  1. Have you read the book by Jean Webster? It’s beautiful. 🙂

    Reply
  2. What can I say? it’s simply commendable…excellent imagination, and perfect blending of words!

    Reply
  3. Oh I had the hugest laugh yet 😀
    Awed by the flow of the narrative and the wit, Soma. But, of course. As always 🙂 🙂 Thank you too, Indira, for getting me here 🙂

    Reply
  4. Quick wit and it flows !! Brilliant

    Reply
  5. Your sweet Mom reblogged this and I am happy I got to read it Soma! 🙂 This was so seriously funny and you sure did weave quite the poem about Daddy Long Legs. He was found innocent, cause the fly commited suicide and he even wrote a best selling book, I loved it Soma! 🙂

    Reply
    • Mom is the best always finding ways to encourage me…But Gabby how sweet is this that you read it and gave me such a warm generous word hug….Can’t thank you enough…this is one of my earliest works and quite close to my heart…Thank you so much
      Love ya 🙂

      Reply
  6. Reblogged this on बंजारा and commented:
    The only way to get through life is to laugh your way through it. You either have to laugh or cry. I prefer to laugh. Crying gives me a headache.”
    ― Marjorie Pay Hinckley

    Reply
  7. Pingback: My 7×7 Link award « somkritya

  8. hehehehe ………..

    Reply
  9. Thanks Debarati and Ma you guys are sweetest souls
    Bapi wow cant thank you enough love you for being so generous and warm

    Reply
  10. It is beyond my capability and imaginative power to realize that a powerful, rich and thought provoking realistic message could be depicted in a short rhythmic poetry.
    Dear SOMA
    I am at a loss to find words to express my feeling ,elation and joy
    I feel like only clapping my hands as a proud and happy mothers boy.
    wonderful superb, extraordinary,brilliant do not match my feelings inherent and latent ,
    as you have bereft me of all my words to submit the ecstasy of a proud parent.
    I can only pray to ALMIGHTY to bless you as much as HE could
    and permit us to hide our tears of joy to enjoy the glorifying fruit.

    Reply
  11. What a lovely poem,witty and intelligent.

    Reply

Word Hug

