RSS Feed

A Very Sad Letter

Dear mirror on  the wall,

It’s with a heavy heart
I today write you this letter,
I would have stalled this if I had any hope
that things would get  better.

I still remember the day I bought you here,
you were  sparkling and just fine.
Of course I would have loved to have a little more
but I thought you would improve like wine.

Sadly though that was not  to be and
you had nothing more to offer.
Not that you made any false promises but I thought
I can persuade you, being a good goffer

Agreed  age has not being on my side and
times have been cruel too,
But to show  me in bad light, all fat and wrinkled
is that what partners do?

They  say we are as old as
our partners make us feel,
And all you have done is  to highlight my flaws
rather than conceal.

So I am switching to a new  sparkling mirror
which has some amazing additional features,
This new one  makes automatic changes
and doesn’t nag me, you know how much I hate  preachers.

We have been together for years now
do not think I will  leave you all alone,
I have found some new homes ready to take you  in
will give you details over the phone.

And call me sensitive and  emotional
I could not bring my self to see your sad face,
I will how ever  wish you the best and hope
all legal matters be resolved at a fast  pace.

Thanking you
Yours….
Mr. Knight in shining  armour

P.S- Please sign the papers attached and send it to me by  tomorrow,
There is no need to prolong this matter for it will only bring  more sorrow.

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

7 responses »

  1. Thanks a ton for this hug 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love the mirror metaphor and like the poem very much.

    Reply
  3. wow Govind ji what an apt reply

    Reply
  4. For me it is absolutely fine
    and I don’t like to whine
    nor would I be able to feign
    that I can maintain your shine
    send in the papers and I will sign,
    remember,with age, you will get better like the wine.

    Reply
  5. A very sad letter indeed.Wish changing mirror solves the problem.
    A beautiful poem by Somkritya.

    Reply

Word Hug

