RSS Feed

A for pizza

you don’t have to be a mom to know how much a kid loves vegetables. am sure most of us have gone through a hate this or hate that phase when we were kids.

I have had those days when I have kept myself and every one around me busy with important questions like “is Bottle gourd really food” or “was Cauliflower ever meant for human consumption”.

And oh the excuses kids can make when they don’t want to do something or eat vegetables or fruits. Believe me I have heard things like- “teacher told me not to drink milk anymore” and “kids who finish their lunch are punished in school.”

so thought of contributing a little to this amazing list of “hey mom…”

broccoli copied from cauliflower
now they both smell very  bad
cabbages and lettuces are evil
both make people so sad
carrots and beetroots are just colours
not good for tummy
spinach leaks when you put salt
and nothing in it is yummy
tomato is red and juicy
and looks so cute
but I wanted a vegetable
and it’s just a sour fruit
peas look a lil fine
but how much can you eat
rest of the vegetables
are just no good for treats
kids should stay away from
apples, oranges or any other fruits
cos I read it in the newspaper
aliens hide in their roots
I wanted to have breakfast
without making any fuss
but kids who drink milk
are not allowed in school bus
hey mom can I have a pizza and an ice cream to be safe.

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

9 responses »

  1. I love it! You would be amazed at some of the tactics I have to employ to get vegetables eaten…especially by the little ones. I have heard some of this before…
    Red.

    Reply
    • 😆 Red we are the best manipulators arent we 😉
      oh the stories and things i tell my daughter just to make her eat some of the things….she is a teenager now so i have an upper hand …you know glowing skin,beautiful hair …using all that a teenager would like and get her to eat salads and soups 😆

      Reply
      • LOL! I do the same thing. My seven year old is well on her way. We say all the time she is 7 going on 26. Such a teenager some of the time…Argh. Time just flies.
        Red.

        Reply
  2. Yes it is rather uncanny how children
    will say these things to avoid eating the
    fruits and vegetables, and I remember
    a disliking of sprouts as a child, but now
    I always enjoy them 🙂

    How do you mean how could
    I remember so far back 🙂 😉 lol

    I like your poem my friend 🙂

    Androgoth Xx

    Reply
  3. A very lovely poem for children but can you imagine how moms are fuming. I remember all the trouble I had to take with my children to make them eat vegetables.

    Reply
  4. thanks evey one..have always been a huge fan of Shel silverstein’s work and it reflects in this poem. thanks again for all the encouraging comments

    Reply
  5. Very sweet! I really like it. The vegetables and fruit complaints reminds me of a book I read to my son about a box of crayons and how the colors did not get along. They each found a flaw with one another until they were eventually shown how to work together.

    Reply
  6. Pizza and ice-cream sounds so good
    but children who make a fuss about their food
    are sure to get a wife who most definitely would
    serve you something that will have your mouth glued
    or a husband so gross and so rude
    and who would have a taste that is crude.

    Reply
  7. kids are gonna love it! finally somebody is speaking their language! 🙂

    Reply

Word Hug

