RSS Feed

Stories from under the bed

Under my bed breathes a world,
full of witches flying,
devils plotting,
angels saving lives
castles and creepy manors
and their vibrant walls
strange lands of hope and stories call my name.
every night after I switch off the lights
this land of unheard voices comes alive
and their songs, screams, war cries
and lullabies makes my night so full of life.
all this and much much more is in the world
that breathes under my bed.
look under your bed tonight
may be there are some stories
lying around under your bed too
the half finished stories are more eager to
meet you and see how you write their end
pick them up and enjoy the dream journey with them
Darkness is a lot of fun you know
they want to be your friends too
yes there are things hiding in the dark
but doesn’t light hide a lot of secrets too
so don’t forget every night
once the lights are off
under the bed
psst …
{Once in this land ask for the girl in the red cage
yes the one who asked for more
and was caught sneaking in the chief’s hut
first they told her it was a game
and they wanted to see
how fast she can get in the cage
yes that’s me
can you open the cage please
it was kinda fun in the beginning
but I don’t think they are playing anymore
specially since they have told me
they are hungry
and I look spicy and yummy enough}

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

9 responses »

  1. under the cover is a different world my friend no doubt
    you are so funny..thanks 🙂

    Reply
  2. I don’t know if you have ever seen the movie “Mirrormask” but your work reminds me very much of that artistic creative style prevalent in that movie. It is an absolute favorite of mine. You have such a vivid imagination and an adorable gift for constructing a world with your words.

    “every night after I switch off the lights
    this land of unheard voices comes alive
    and their songs, screams, war cries
    and lullabies makes my night so full of life.”

    That is just…awesome. I have always fallen asleep to my imagination of creatures, stories, and people in my bed. I usually let them all in under the covers though…under the bed I could never see what they were up to 😉

    Reply
  3. Thanks Steven, well cat furs are not so bad they may be leaving trails you never know…

    Reply
  4. I must make it more of a point to come to the actual blog page because of all of the cool images you embed in your posts. I like the notion that stories are hanging out in all sorts of places including under the bed. But not mine, they were crowded out by the cat fur.

    Reply
  5. Yay your comments lighten up my blog, lovely comment

    Reply
  6. These things you find under the bed
    sometimes come out of your head
    they’ll lead you wherever you want to be led
    and feed you whatever you want to be fed
    some of them will want to make you dread
    yet some help your sorrow and ennui to shed
    under the bed you are sure to find a spread.

    Reply
  7. Such an amazing idea,who could have thought looking for stories under the bed.bravo.I am inspired.Very very humorous,ghostly and funny poem,enjoyed a lot.

    Reply

Word Hug

