RSS Feed

Dear Diary My Mom and Dad……

(why am i grounded??)

Dear Diary

A kid’s life is full of hardships and I don’t think mom and dad know much about kids.

As soon as I came home Mom asked me, “Did you fight with kids in your school?”

And I said,” yes mom they were teasing my friends, bunch of fools.”

“Fighting is not the way,” said mom, “next time report it to your teachers.”

“But mom,it’s not that easy,those kids won’t listen to a bunch of preachers!”

“What!” Said mom, “I don’t want to hear anymore, you will be grounded and punished till I am sure you are reformed.”

“What kind of punishment…and do you know punishments cause skin rashes, ulcers and fever”, I informed.

“No they don’t,” said mom, “you and manners live too far from each other let’s start building a bridge.”

“Here write down your favourite activity and next time you err,you won’t be allowed to do that for a week.” And then she stuck a paper on the fridge.

At least she won’t scold me next time I thought and wrote down an activity on the pad.

All she wants from me is to honour this pact, that I will, see I am not that bad!

Mom saw what I wrote and said, “You have to change the activity right now, there are duties one can’t shirk.

You have to write something you love and you cannot write homework.”

Fine I thought, but she gave me the choice then why can’t homework be on top of my favourite things to do?

Anyways I changed the activity, how to win mom’s approval! If only I had some cue,

A kid’s life is full of struggles; mom read and said no!

I love cleaning my room, oh! But what does mom know.

So I wrote down the next best thing which was on my mind

And to show mom that I really meant it I even signed

“This is it, your turns are over I gave you three chances to be honest, and this is what you do?”said mom who looked very angry, “if you can’t be honest in such a small task how will I ever trust you?”

“But mom,” I said, “I love eating vegetables, I really really really do!

When she never agrees to what I have to say, why give me choice?

Yours

Me the sad one

 

Dear diary

What a day, Nobody loves me I know the truth now

I discovered this horrible truth will tell you how.

Me: Mom I think I better stop going to the school

I want to stay at home and help you and studies cause brain damage

Mom: Oh dear thanks, but I think education makes you look cool and brain damage I think you will manage

Me: Dad, do you want me to stop studying and work for you I think I am ready for the job, let’s talk about my pay

Dad: Really, great, that’s the deal then. The moment you have the required degree to help me out your schooling stops, what do you say?

Me: hey Uncle Mat, I heard you need a gardener, I love gardening, it’s so much fun, and I am ready to leave the school for it, please talk to dad

Uncle Mat: I have been looking for someone, I wish I could but you are only seven, I have to let go of such a good offer, it’s just so sad.

No one wants me, I have to find out why, saw a movie in which the parents were alien?

I have to find out their planet I think I will talk to Jim and Adwen

Yours

The budding detective

 

copyright2011@somkritya

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: DEAR DIARY MY MOM AND DAD…… | rajesh1128

  2. Just loved it…..this is too good ! very well written….

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on बंजारा and commented:
    I like this post very much and read it again and again.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the love Jessie read your blog you are an inspiration sista…am going to follow you

    Reply
  5. Very insightful and I appreciate your honesty. An interesting read!

    Reply
  6. Thanks Indira ji you have always been very encouraging

    Reply
    • Hi Soma, I can read your post again and again and every time find them very interesting and informative also. All kids will love it.

      Reply
  7. Very well expressed agony of a child. Very correct expressions. You marvel in whatever you write.

    Reply
  8. Thanks Govind your comment made my day…kids grow up too fast but they make the time such fun all the funny excuses and things they do..

    Reply
  9. Even with passing years the child within will not die
    and yes parents will never understand I don’t know why
    But when I talk about my children all I can do is sigh
    and wonder why the hell did I let the stork fly.

    Soma excellent style of presentation. I wish I too could write a whole post in rhyming words. 🙂

    Reply

Word Hug

