RSS Feed

Life Cycle of Death

The day I was born
much before that
my death was scripted.
with the ink of that moment
my spark was bathed
And with death in my destiny
and all the experience gained
I was born one day
                                                      one look at life
                                       and  I forgot all that I brought
                                  I will now not know till that moment
                                   how close I am to my death today
if I could ask my soul
I would, of my death,
and she may even  tell me
when and where
but it would be then
defeat of the purpose of life
And strain the love
life and death share
                                        so till that day when I no longer breathe
                                         I shall breathe and dream of life
                                      and wonder if we can ever cheat death.

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

14 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Between Life And Death Is… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. I just commented on http://www.questforheaven.blogspot.com and I think I can repce it here too. A very feeble attempt to match your writing. 🙂

    Death waits to be born again
    and take away be it the meek or the vain
    surely it doesn’t have much to gain
    than give support for this terrain
    dying,unable to immortality sustain
    Death!Can we really arraign?

    Reply
  3. Brilliant writing, Soma!

    Reply
  4. Thanks Manju..wah Harivanshrai ji ki rachnaye jitna padho utna inspire karti hai

    Reply
  5. Amazingly bueatiful poem… it reminded me my favorite lines from Shri Harivansh Rai Bachchan’s Madhushala… आने के ही साथ जगत में कहलाया जाने वाला… स्वागत के ही साथ विदा की, होती देखी तैयारी, बंद लगी होने खुलते ही, मेरी जीवन मधुशाला.

    Regards
    Manju

    Reply
  6. Another beautiful and stark poem. I like the thought of asking your own soul for the details, but instead accepting it as inevitable and moving on with life.

    Reply
  7. Had death not been there,no good work would have been done by man to be immortal by his deeds.
    Very insightful poem indeed.

    Reply
  8. You are amazing VW, what a beauty…its always a pleasure reading your work..thanks for adding more life to my work….:-)

    Reply
  9. What joy could come from cheating death?
    That faithful friend with remedies
    That mend the heartaches we amass
    And calm the rage of enemies
    What peace could come without that rest
    A chance at last to lay our heads
    And know we needn’t stir again
    My friend, I will be home when dead

    🙂

    I love your work. It is amazingly insightful and thoughtful. I adore this poem. I loved your descriptions and it conjured in my mind the fragility of life and the cycles through which we pass. Absolutely lovely

    Reply

Word Hug

