RSS Feed

A Hug From The Past

someone once said best antique you can gift yourself 
would be planting a tree today
aint it true an old buddy still standing in your backyard
whom you hugged and shared all your secrets with
when you were a kid 🙂
up in the tree house
inside a wooden box
lived some of my memories
in old pictures and letters
one old poster of my hero
flying high in the sky
some half written poems
sketching a secret pact
and then some scented pebbles
treasured in a box of Incense stick.
a jar full of sand
just in case it rains outside
oh the tree house did have
lot of murmurs and whispers
and songs and pacts
floating around
for when we were singing talking
fighting crying in its lap
the tree heard it all
and stored it in its veins for us
and that big tree that died
from Heavy rains last night
 Hugged and kept safe
our beautiful Memory box inside
for that old buddy
for everything we shared
I planted a seed today
for it will soon be a buddy
to someone near..
About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

51 responses »

  1. Hey Soma….Took me back to my Mayur Vihar days of 80’s and early 90’s…..pure nostalgia…..

    Reply
    • uff aakhir tune kuch kaha…mmuah babe 🙂

      Reply
      • hey honestly I was trying to get the hang of commenting , but have been going through most of ur work…..touches that chord within….keep writing, its not just a beautiful expereince to go thru ur blog….believe me soma its insightful too….CHEERS

        Reply
  2. I love hugs! Thanks!

    Reply
  3. Soma K. This is another lovely journey through your inspiring thoughful soul.
    Lovely memories here.

    Reply
  4. Loved reading your poetry Soma!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful Creation!

    Regards

    Reply
  6. What fond memories you evoke, Soma…this is lovely~ xx

    Reply
  7. Lovely. The nostalgia, the glint of sorrow, and the hope, and promise of the new seed 🙂 Touched by it!

    Reply
  8. awakeningpsyche

    It connects, beautiful.

    Reply
  9. Loved this one Soma 🙂

    Reply
  10. Brimming with such intimate memories…lovely work! Thank you for sharing

    Reply
  11. Raven of Leyla

    Did I tell you I am a treehugger from way back? They are such heros to me…I used to find a big one to sit in often well into my middle age. I think I will put it on my 2012 to do list, climb, sit in a tree and be me 😀

    Reply
  12. A lovely poem Soma
    and I wish you a very
    nice weekend too 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  13. for that old buddy
    for everything we shared
    I planted a seed today
    for it will soon be a buddy
    to someone near..

    I like the new hope….very nice poem, true to every heart… touches deepest cord of childhood memories…

    Reply
  14. A touching and well executed poem. It brought back childhood memories for me. I think I like this one the best of all that I have read so far!

    Reply
  15. Thoroughly charming 🙂

    Reply
  16. Creative and inspiring! Many thanks.

    Reply
  17. I love it 🙂 I also used to like climbing trees as a kid!!

    Reply
  18. Blood-Ink-Diary

    oops, again a typo…i meant “I should know!” not I ‘should do’. Man, do I need glasses?!

    Reply
  19. Blood-Ink-Diary

    “for when we were singing talking
    fighting crying in its lap
    the tree heard it all
    and stored it in its veins for us” — cinematique, serrated pang and twist of bliss! This verse captures the silent lament when tongues run dry from speaking both the anguish and joy. There is a huge tree in Cambodia in Siem Reap, there is a hollow trunk and many people have spoken right into the trunk and left secrets inside the tree (I should do!). Somi, you ought to write more poetry, your expression is remarkable. Cheers & love.

    Reply
    • Thanks Shaheen hey that tree in Cambodia is calling me I used to spend so much time on tree that some of my batchmates( read boys) started calling me Monkey King and ..well..Am glad you liked it hugs 🙂

      Reply
  20. I love this post my friend 🙂

    Reply
  21. It really is beautiful Soma, I liked it so much! Wonderful writing as always, I enjoyed reading this one a lot. 🙂

    Reply
  22. Pingback: Trees | Canyon Hills Life

  23. Beautiful poem, thank you for sharing it! God Bless 🙂

    Reply
  24. I love this story! It’s wonderful, and a bit sad too. Great work, Soma!
    Hugs, xx

    Reply

Word Hug

