RSS Feed

Safar(सफ़र)

We started the journey(सफ़र)

Of the known and unknown

The day we were born

The day we shook hands with death

And agreed to meet him somewhere in between

Or in the end as he called it

And then spent the life wishing never to see him again

Somewhere in this journey we found ourselves

We lost ourselves

We understood, got confused

And in this journey

we trusted God

we blamed God

Ignoring, avoiding, being indifferent to suffering around

And still hoped and prayed for his mercy

Somewhere in this journey

We became rebels

 Stood for values

 Fought for one

 Agreed with none

Stood up for something’s

And regretted not standing for that one

Somewhere the hope died

Somewhere a new shoot was born

Rainbow failed to show up

Sun peeked through heavy clouds

Somewhere in this journey we found love

Lost it, all heart broken

To be filled with love and warmth again

Or may be never

Some rivers found their oceans

Some lost their route or the zest

Somewhere in the journey

                                                          Some found courage,

                                               some lived with conscience muted

Some wrote, some listened

Some got married and some..

Well some of them still say single makes sense

Some lived happily ever after

And some never found out what it was

And in these alleys of the life we travelled

                                              We ran, we gave up and sat for a while

And in these alleys of life we expressed

Sometimes we howled out loud

   Sometimes we muffled the screams and the laughter

And just let our body talk

And in these alleys of life we lived

Dying every night

Coming to life every morning

Wishing for more, hoping for less

What ever worked…

And in these alleys of life

We met death

Some called him, embraced him

And some begged for another chance

Sometimes he came straight to us

And sometimes he just shook hands and said

Some other time

And in these alleys life ended

 life began..

 

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

54 responses »

  1. the hypnotic mist of darkness and mortal illusion…

    Reply
  2. Oh my! I read this so many times, and i thought I’d already left a note here🙂 Seems like I was so absorbed that I quite forgot! Awesome work, Soma. It stupefies me, the way you simply flow with the words, the images, and take us along the journey of life, lived by all of us, in our own measure. EAch of our lives is up there, beautifully and simply portrayed! Thank you, endlessly!

    Reply
  3. Soma this is utterly beautiful! I love the way that you use words. Just brilliant!🙂

    Reply
  4. Raven of Leyla

    I love this one Soma, it is so true birth to death and beyond…it is the in between each that you write so well😀

    Reply
  5. Beautiful, powerful, and honest. People often wonder what life is all about. I feel this is a perfect representation.🙂
    Peace & grace,
    ~Miro

    Reply
  6. And just let our body talk…wow. You are a master of verse, my friend. A lovely work

    Reply
  7. This is wonderfully epic and visual.

    Reply
  8. Excellent composition. Wonderful flow of images, ideas, & emotions.

    Reply
  9. What an amazing journey, Soma, and a profound ending! Simply awesome, my wonderful friend! Hugs to you this evening!

    Reply
  10. I love this entry Soma excellent🙂

    Reply
  11. What a wonderful journey through life! Really beautiful!🙂

    Reply
  12. I never knew that a life cycle of all people in the universe with ups and downs throughout their journey could be described in such a compact meaningful rhythmic poetical rendering.
    I can only give a standing ovation to the creator of this conception,the composer and the choreographer of thoughts in guiding the readers to the world of human expectation ,dreams and reality .

    Reply
  13. You know I never get your updates, but this isn’t just on yours,
    I don’t get updates on most of the Spaces that I follow so all that
    I can do is to apologise for not calling in here sooner…

    This is a very good poem Soma
    and you have written it wonderfully🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  14. Tamtej nocy
    mój anioł stróż
    był bardzo pijany.

    Spotkaliśmy się
    po latach
    na tym samym piętrze
    szpitalnego korytarza
    powiedziałam mu jeszcze nie mój czas……..

    piękny wiersz….pozdrawiam😉

    Reply
  15. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Very vivid. I travelled with you. I agree ‘hats off’.

    Reply
  16. Soma, i am short of adjectives here.. All the usual ones have been taken already, but I couldnt stop from commenting. You have a way with words I admire and secretly am jealous of. People like you mess with the normal laws of average words in vocabulary.😛

    Reply
  17. Haunting. Beautifully haunting….

    Reply
  18. This poem is amazingly beautiful Soma. You take us through the whole journey with your words weaving the way. I must say again…You are a genius with words and blessed to write so wonderfully! Keep it rolling forevermore!🙂

    Reply
  19. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Somi, your poem is profound, utter brilliance. Each thought woven without any strings untouched! Love & cheers.

    Reply
  20. Hi Aunty Soma!
    Thank u for bring me a really nice get well card last night. I was sleeping when you gave it to me. It helped me feel better because now I know you care for me to. Mommy says she would keep the card for me to put on my page so I would remember you care. But I wouldn’t forget.
    Mommy also told me to apologize to you went I was done here for interrupting your beautiful post. She says you need a guestpage.
    Thank you, Aunty Soma
    This is for you….http://i737.photobucket.com/albums/xx12/mrsmra/Dogs/lick.gif

    Reply
    • Oh Cici thank you for replying back..was worried about you..guest book hmm have been thinking about it..but now that you have suggested I will do so..how can I not listen to the cutest one..:)

      Reply
  21. Oh my gosh, if only I could write like you, Soma! This is absolutely wonderful! You always take me with you when you write.
    Hugs, xx

    Reply
  22. Hi, I’ve nominated you for The 7×7 Link award. If you want more info, click here (If technology stops hating on me and actually works this time!) >> http://jenchay.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/abc-award-versatile-blogger-award-and-7×7-link-award/

    Reply
  23. awakeningpsyche

    Wow, you took me on a journey of life….Amazing and beautiful flow of words…You are too good at what you write…:)

    Reply
  24. As usual your poetry captures the essences of life that everyone encounters. It does so in such a way that one is captivated by your words and the graceful way you put them together.

    Reply
  25. You just described the entire planet here, Soma. Beautifully written: very deep and thoughtful! Loved it. 🙂

    Cheers to life!

    Reply
  26. I am just amazed, this is the best!! What a great writing, Soma🙂 I love the way you write!

    Reply
  27. Wonderful Miss Soma. A journey through the human condition. You manage to encapsulate our entire lifetime in a beautiful observational verse.
    You bring a smile and a tear and leave a feeling of contentment.

    Thank you

    Reply
  28. my god Soma this is amazing!!! and the ending was awesome. hats off!!

    Reply

Word Hug

