RSS Feed

পইলা বৈশাখ- Poila boishakh

Today 14th of april is New year for the bengalis all over the world.Nobo Borsho marks the new year day as per the the Bengali calender and is celebrated in West Bengal with great fervor and joy. Nobo Borsho (নব বর্শ) is the Bangla term meaning New Year (Nobo= new and Borsho=year). It is also popularly called Poila Baishakh (পইলা বৈশাখ) or the first day of Vaisakh month which is the first month of Bengali calendar and it marks the beginning of  the Bengali Year 1419 ( 2012-2013 as per English calendar)

I just wanted to share this information with all of you and one magical thought which my Mom shared with me few months back.

I was discussing one of my stories with my  mom one day when she told me, pen it down,share it if you want to but write about it now, while the words are still in your garden. I was a bit puzzled at first but it became clear when she told me music and words are there in this universe constantly changing and forming  patterns to create new tunes, poems and stories. And they travel and caress every heart that listens , every soul looking out for them. But they dont stay in one place for long. if you embrace that tune or thought, its yours and the the tunes and words will change the pattern again and begin a new journey to next host.

she told me to embrace my thoughts and give them a shape while they are fresh and then weave them to make a beautiful score or poem or story. And if you delay or neglect them someone else will invite them in their world and your words will be theirs may be better may be not ,but they will  not be yours any more..

I knew what she was trying to tell me and it was a wonderful way to send me that message . So today Instead of pondering over the first though which caressed my soul, i just wrote about it. Just a little bit about my Culture,my Roots, my Country.

I am posting a Bangla song for all of you. Hope you will listen to it.

In this song a lover complains to his companion why she doesn’t love him the way  the nature does.

He says why don’t you smile at my words like the flowers smile at bees, why don’t you come to me like the spring does to the earth

or float in my dreams like the clouds in the sky,  why don’t you embrace me like the air embraces the moonlight

like a bird chirps in its nest calling her mate why dont you love me like them…

Hope you enjoyed it , Have a great weekend🙂

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

70 responses »

  1. Pingback: Shubho Nobo Borsho 1421 – on missing Bangladesh | kenthinksaloud

  2. This song is nice. Reminds me of India. I have tons of Indian music on my harddisk.

    Reply
  3. Good advice from your mom. I second it!

    Reply
  4. Soma, thanks so much for sharing about Bangla New Year and this Bangla song, with lyrics translated to English for us! I just feel myself growing to be a more and more complete person learning about you and your culture on your blog. Your mother has my deepest appreciation for advising you to write down the words in your garden today.

    Reply
  5. Your mom blogs too? Cool!! Shubo Nobo Borsho er Priti o Subechha.

    Reply
  6. i didn’t understood bangla but yes your mother words are really very inspiring, I also feel that nature is always in a mood to communicate with us but we only keep our shutters close.

    Reply
  7. Goutam Mukherjee

    Congrats ! Very very impressive. Excellent !
    Keep it up.

    Reply
  8. Beautiful insights, Soma! I love the wisdom of writing at the moment of inspiration. Makes great sense. Lovely tune, too.

    Happy Nobo Borsho!

    Reply
  9. Happy New Year. I enjoyed the post very much. Thank you

    Reply
  10. Blood-Ink-Diary

    What a lovely memory, Somi. Of course, Maa is one beautiful soul and I totally adore her. May your garden always bloom with lovely treasures, so that you can continue nurturing our souls with beauty.
    Wishing Happy Poila Boishak to everyone at home. Lovely treasure from Hemant Kumar — I seriously think I should have been a Bengali — Aparna Sen, Satyajit Ray, Subash Chandre Gose, oh the list goes on. Big hug to my Nita! Lots of love to you and Maa. Lovely post!

    Reply
  11. A very happy Nobo Barsho to you
    on 14th we too celebrated Vishu
    Malayali new Year, Usha has written about it too
    so may the year be filled with happiness all through
    and health, peace, success and prosperity too
    I am happy that I got a chance to wish your family and you
    And the advise your mother gave you
    WOW it is so much true.

    Reply
  12. Thank you for enlightening me, my friend!

    Reply
  13. Oh, Soma, I loved this and the wise advice given to you by your beautiful Mother…this song is also beautiful with deep and profound meaning~thank you for sharing, my friend and keep penning your thoughts! Hugs and Blessings~

    Reply
  14. Great post Soma , thumbs up🙂

    Reply
  15. I love hearing about traditions, holidays and stories of far away places. They are especially meaningful when shared by someone who is steeped in them, the way a native of any land is. The way you are Soma. Each item of culture you share is interesting and wonderful. Thabknyou so much!

    Reply
    • Steven thank you so much, I just love my roots every bit and they teach me to improve and embrace every thing good around..
      Just like you i too love the stories about other countries and their traditions, how lovely and vibrant this world is🙂

      Reply
  16. This is very interesting history your country-thank you Soma……..very nice
    day😉

    Reply
  17. Loved this post. Every single part of it. Your mother is so wise. The song is pure heaven. Thank you. I had a very good day today; the first day in 3 months with energy. Perhaps it is the April 14th date. Much light and joy to you sweet, sweet friend. Sam

    Reply
  18. I loved the song Soma, it was just lovely and thank you for the translation for us. Your Mom, she is just such a special one and so full of wisdom and joy…Such beautiful thoughts and advice she offers, too. You are so blessed to have her, and blessed to write like this, too Soma!🙂 Happy Poila Boishakh and many blessings to you and your family!🙂 Thank you so much for sharing! Love and Hugs🙂

    Reply
    • Oh thank you so much Gabby, am sorry could not reply sooner..its a blessing to have such lovely parents and life becomes even more beautiful when one has friends like you girls.
      love n hugs🙂

      Reply
  19. Wishing you a very happy and prosperous nabhobarsho!
    Thoughts are like butterflies…fluttering from one flower to another and your mother is very wise to have said “when the words are in your garden…pen them down”:)

    Reply
  20. Your mom is good for you, Soma🙂 There would be more art, more stories, more music written if there were more moms like yours…

    Reply
  21. Soma,
    I don’t have your email, so had to send it this way. I listened to the song you posted. Then, of course, several others popped up as they do on Youtube. I listened to one by the some person:

    if it’s appropriate, could you let me know what the song is about? I liked it, but lyrics weren’t there.
    Thanks,
    Scott

    Reply
  22. Your mom makes a great point. I have to write down my ideas or they flit and float away, like that poor guy’s lover!
    Happy New Year and happy weekend Soma!

    Reply
  23. WORD HUG OF THE DAY FOR YOU ——-
    MY EARS ARE SINGING THAT BEAUTIFUL SONG WITH YOU
    WHAT A GIFTED HUMAN HEART YOU ARE …..
    NEVER EVER GIVE UP –
    YOUR MOM IS AMAZING
    AND YOU ARE AMAZING …..
    IN EVERY SINGLE WAY XOXOXOXOXOO
    LOVE ALWAYS
    CAT XOXOXO

    Reply
    • Oh Cat you give such lovely heart warming word hugs..thank you so much. Am so glad you liked the song..its very old but i love the calmness and the serenenity it spreads around.
      You are a sweetheart
      love n hugs🙂

      Reply
  24. I loved being able to learn a bit of your culture, your country, Soma. So thank you for sharing that, including the lovely song. I’m glad you translated it for me, or I would have missed out on just how beautiful it was over the tune itself….thank you.
    But your mom and her advice it the best advice. She has played an important role in who you are today. You are a wonderful writer full of love and humor, and capture the hearts of many.
    ♥Love and Hugs, my friend! xx

    Reply
    • Thanks Deb🙂
      i love that song, quite old but one of my favourites.
      oh you are a sweetheart writing all those things about me..
      but I have learned a lot from you too..you are one of the most giving selfless person i have met..the way you embrace every one who comes to you..share with them and treat them like your family
      you are a darling, Deb ,love you🙂

      Reply
  25. Wow Somi, what a wonderful memory you have got. I am amazed how much you remeber, the song is very good,thanks you shared. Your post is also very good. Happy Poila Boishakh. Hope you all had a great time today. Love you.

    Reply
  26. Enchantingly beautful…so very lovely to absorb into my heart and mind! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  27. Fabulous. This is proper ‘parenting’ Soma! An art we are losing, if not completely lost over here… And yes, our roots, our culture, wherever we find ourselves, are vitally important.

    Reply
    • Thanks David you are so right about good parenting, you dont have to do something special, just be there for your kids and more than half of the work is done…..
      Thank you so much for that lovely word hug🙂

      Reply
  28. Hi,
    Your Mum’s sounds like a very wise Lady, such beautiful words and so very true.
    I loved the song, loved the music, very nice.

    Reply
  29. Shubho nobo borsh..🙂
    Thanks for sharing this. I think your mother’s wise words hold good not just for words but for everything in life..

    Reply
  30. I love how your Mom said that to you about writing, it’s so true🙂 Great post and I like the video ! Happy Vaisakh ♥ hugs and love, Autumn

    Reply
  31. I love the way you put your thoughts into words, Soma, its ever so pleasant to read and take in🙂. What an enlightening piece of advice from your mother as well🙂

    A beautiful song with such meaningful lyrics and the mellifluous voice of Hemant Kumar to go with it! What a treat to the ears! Thank you so much for sharing🙂

    A very happy new year to you and yours! Loads of hugs to darling Bonita from me & Namnam🙂

    Reply
  32. Your Mother is so very right – all these words we use are known and well worn. Yet we ‘weave’ them into ever new colours and patterns in never ending permutations. The moment we fashion them, they move along touch, rest and some germinate new and wondrous shoots in another’s garden – new blooms for us to relish.

    Your Mother’s wisdom…Wow!

    Reply
    • Eric true that…wonderful what you wrote
      Mom is just amazing never ever gave up on me and tries every trick in her bag and encourages me to give my best
      Thanks a ton🙂

      Reply
  33. Happy New Year, dear Soma, and to Bonita too!
    I’ve heard this song before, all thanks to my mamiji who is a Bong .:)
    And yes, your mom and you are absolutely right that a thought should be embraced right when it blooms….and that’s what I did a moment ago by posting a new poem on http://lopalikhekavita.wordpress.com/
    and that’s what i am doing now by giving you a word hug for this wonderful and to-be-cherished thought.🙂
    Love and Hugs.

    Reply
    • Oh I read you poem Lopa you are doing such a wonderful job with your hindi poems…they are lovely and you have that gift of reaching out to people with simple and profound poetry🙂
      Thanks Lopa Oh havent we grown up lestening to these great songs🙂
      Love n hugs🙂

      Reply
  34. This is a beautiful post Soma. I enjoyed reading through this and the song is quite charming🙂 It’s wonderful to read your Mother’s words of encouragement to you. Thank you for sharing. Love & hugs xox

    Reply
  35. did she really say “while the words are still in your garden”?

    that’s beautiful.

    Reply
    • Oh yes she did..she is pretty amazing when it comes to encouraging and inspiring us( me and my brother) will tell us these beautiful things and at times get frustrated at our laid back attitude but never loses temper..
      If you ever read one of my memoirs do read “magical summers” you will know how wonderful my mom n dad are🙂

      Reply

Word Hug

