RSS Feed

The backpack things….

Spring definitely is one of the best seasons to smell and embrace sunshine.In winter Sun is in its self pitying long dark mood a lot and that dilutes its charm and in summer its rage overshadows  its beautiful soft embraces.

Rage and depression do that….

Reminds me of one of George Carlin quote- “Don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things

Autumn has its own charm and is equally lovely to soak up some sun. In a way both spring and Autumn are twins, one celebrates new life and the other celebrates death, which again means time to paint new canvas.

Nature in its own predictable way teaches unpredictability in every thing around. like a fresh water spring or  stream amidst huge rocks or a shoot which finds its way to smile all through a cement crack. telling us again and again if you want it you will  find a way to do it….

In a few days from now it will be sweat and dust everywhere. people hiding under their sun glasses and umbrellas. Constantly looking for cold water to quench the thirst and some just refuse to go out …not appealing at all.

and in these hot humid days all I can think of is to get my back pack and ditch the city for the calmer colder lovely hills. confide in some lovely stream or hill and let my mind and body soak up the beauty that is nature.

I have to try to escape the ‘web of maya’ I have created for myself once in a while and when i do, laptop will have to stay at home with the rest of her pals. Mobile is lucky it gets to travel with me..i have to, one never knows….

A typical Spring or Autumn backpack would have few clothes (  till I learn to make something out of leaves and barks) a camera ( to capture few moments of bliss), mosquito repellent lotion( those blood suckers are huge in some places), Knife, candle, matchbox, biscuits, water among few other things which are absolutely must haves.

it has been a while and the woods have been calling me……soon very soon…

VIZAG

Spring, Autumn,winter and summer

all the seasons to make a perfect weather cycle

one goes another comes, for better or for worse

every season brings in new air

full of new stories and poems

i love and i sing in some

and sigh and crib in others

Spring and Autumn,short visits

showing  the world in HD for a short while

and then vanish like houdini

summer,an overstaying self invited bore

making me sweat with it glaring stare.

hiding in the cooler parts of my home

i secretly make plans and get satisfaction

being able to hide at least somethings from the sun

Summer melts my thoughts away

winter freezes them

Rain would have been nice

if it drizzled just the amount i liked

I have to blame some things

for the drought in my creative spring sometimes.

even though I know it too well

when you close your senses and soul

to the world around

nothing can inspire you

not even the

brightest of the flowers

or the sweetest of  chirps.

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

55 responses »

  1. Day–hiking out in the woods and meadows in spring and autumn–what joys not be missed. Love it how you celebrate these joys in this post. Very worthy ode to nature’s joys in spring and autumn. (Actually, I get out there no matter the weather or season–love living where there are four distinct seasons! Very early dawn times in summer and mid afternoons in winter are still great most days for at least a short hike of soaking up natural wonders and changes.)

    Reply
  2. All so very true, Soma, and a wonderful way to describe both the numbness and the stimulation. Love that George Carlin quote, too!

    Reply
  3. It such a wonderful experience to read the work of one who is not insensitive to themselves and the world that is about them. I can just feel the glow off your heart in your beautifully written words.

    Reply
  4. What a wonderful post to make us more aware of the beauty surrounding us, Soma! We love the mountains, camping and backpacking, so the idea of leaving your laptop at home and venturing into nature sounds very inviting. I understand the whole mobile thing…one never knows, as you said. I also love the Carlin quote! 🙂 Beautiful poem and message. Hugs for a lovely Monday! xo

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Lauren….I have once really regretted not having my mobile..lesson learned..but no other gadget gets to go or else i will be blogging instead of soaking up some love 🙂
      That Carlin quote is real good i hope more people stop fussing over the nothings
      Love n hugs 🙂

      Reply
  5. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Brilliant post, Somi. It’s simply outstanding. Stay gold.

    Reply
  6. Cool, hip post! I love the Carlin quote!

    Reply
  7. ‘when you close your senses and soul/to the world around/nothing can inspire you…’
    Great post Soma, and how true. I particularly the lines above. Perhaps we have gone far enough in de-mythologizing the world; we do need to keep our sense of wonder, of beauty and leaving things be. As someone once said, we need to go out wearing good shoes and not try to carpet the whole world.

    Reply
  8. Too much sun, too much rain, too much cold…the extremes of feast and famine…moderation, where art thou…I wonder, gazing out from my airconditioned room, living in Singapore, the airconitioned island…increasing my carbon footprint…see what you made me do.

    Reply
    • 🙂 🙂 Eric it has become an air brushed world…living in air conditioned houses ( entire summer) it looks glossy out but one step out of the house and its like a ravaged world from futuristic movie…am glad there still are few places left where i can think living without even a fan..Kasauli in northern India is one such place no one has even a fan cos they just dont need it..i consider such things a luxury….
      Thanks Eric 🙂

      Reply
  9. What a beautiful poem and story…Soma you are so gifted in your writing! A wonderful post! 🙂 I love the mountains so much myself and blessed to be living so close to them. Hugs 🙂

    Reply
  10. I am just sitting here sneezing.

    Reply
  11. Soma, this post makes me think of that great old song “There is a rose in Spanish Harlem.” continue…

    Reply
    • Oh I love that song wonderful lyrics..i now wonder if this was what inspired me to write this one…have heard it a lot many times..
      Thanks Tony 🙂
      Wish you a great weekend 🙂

      Reply
  12. Hi,
    Fantastic poem, beautifully written.
    Spring is the best time of the year I think with all the beautiful colours of the gardens and everything is lovely and green, it’s like a new life for the nature. 🙂

    Reply
  13. YOU ARE SO COOL SOMA XX
    REALLY TRULY MADLY COOL
    JUST NOTICED YOUR SOUNDLCOUD AND YOUR GOODREADS
    I AM THERE TOO BUT I CAN’T FOR THE LIFE OF THESE EYES FIGURE OUT HOW TO ATTACH SOUNDWAVES OR GOOD READS HERE ….LOL

    PS- YOU ARE SO TALENTED – IT HURTS …….
    IN A GOOD WAY ……….

    WHAT REALLY BUGS ME SOMETIMES IS THAT THERE IS SOOOOOOO MUCH RAW TALENT IN THIS WORLD AND
    ALL THAT PUBLISHED STUFF THAT BIG COORPORATIONS PRINT IS MOSTLY ——-
    YUKKKK STUFF ——-

    STUFF THAT LACKS NOW HEART – U KNOW ?

    YOURS HAS HEART THAT JUMPS OFF THE PAGE
    XOXOXO
    LOVE YOU
    AGAIN ….BLOWN AWAY XOXOXOXOX
    C

    Reply
    • OMG Cat this is so sweet of you
      have to tell you it took me an entire hour trying to figure out how to put the sound cloud in the widget…But I just loved George’s work so didnt give up..
      As for talented…You and all those lovely warm people i follow have really inspired me a lot..i read your work and my heart starts whispering beautiful things…
      You stay in good company it helps and enriches you too thas what it is really…
      Thanks Cat not just being my friend but also inspiring and encouraging me 🙂
      Love ya 🙂

      Reply
      • THAT’S WHAT FRIENDS ARE HERE FOR XOXOXOXOXO
        NEXT TIME ON SOUNDCLOUD – GONNA FIND YOU XOXOXOXO
        STILL TRYING TO FIGURE IT OUT UP THERE 🙂 LOL XOXOXOXOXOOXOXOX

        Reply
  14. You have reason: All seasons have their charm. In my opinion, the spring is the season of the revival.
    You love the nature and you tell with the words.

    Reply
  15. Soma, tell me about those mosquitoes. I use this cream called odomos that comes from India. Do you use it? It’s amazing, and i owe it everything. I also have my little yellow tennis raquet, too. I used to actually play tennis, now i just swing a raquet at mosquitoes…Oh the seasons of our life 🙂 You have a blissful weekend.

    Reply
    • ha ha ha Luckily i dont have to now but ya some nights are odomos nights 😆
      and with that tennis racket/mosquito killer i really look like a woman on a mission 😆
      you made me laugh so hard….
      Thanks Kathryn I think we all are extremely grateful to odomos..the second best thing after electricity lol
      Thanks Kathryn wish you a lovely weekeknd too 🙂

      Reply
  16. Oh, such a beautiful poem! Even I who, mostly, stays in during the hot summer months got to view it through your poem as hot and harsh, but still inviting.

    I don’t get to backpack anymore, yet. The cane and hip make that a near impossibility. I was never really into that, but would go for the right person. My son lives in Oregon, where it rains nearly every day, but only a short bit (just enough as you stated). You might like it there. He tells me it is beautiful; I intend to visit someday.

    Keep smiling; it has been near perfect weather here. Breezy, cool, light sun, little rain, everything green and glowing; may change tomorrow, but that…I have learned well…is tomorrow.

    Scott

    Reply
    • Thanks Scott..for a right person we will do a lot they inspire us to do more….
      Oregon definitely sounds like a place of my taste…if and when you visit do take pics…
      aah tomorrow is a promise to no one….its always better to enjoy today 🙂
      Wish you a wonderful weekend 🙂

      Reply
  17. Spring very nice,sun,flowers,nature live……smile Soma you and your daughter….
    😉

    Reply
  18. Very well written post soma,’when you close your senses and soul…………
    Loved your poem.

    Reply
  19. Great anaysis of the ever changing seasonal dynamics. I would like to back pack and camp….Hmmm Vizag in the pic ….always wanted to go there but never got a chance, maybe someday. I am from the Deccan area of the same state 🙂

    ~Aparna

    Reply
  20. Sprint and Autum are truly remarkable times in the cycle of the seasons. A beginning and an end. I am fortunate enough to live far enough away from the city that there are woods and farms all around. The river snakes through the valley and nature blens seamlessly into my backyard. There are times when I just like to lie in the grass for a few minutes, close to the earth with the smells and sounds keeping me company. What a terrific celebration of the seasons and land you have described. Makes me want to go home right now and lay in the grass awhile.

    Reply
    • Oh Steven you are blessed, other day you described your route to office which sounded very pleasant…
      You live in such a beautiful place…no wonder you weave such lovely stories…surrounded by inspiration…
      Thanks a ton..do post some pictures some day 🙂

      Reply
  21. “Nature in its own predictable way teaches unpredictability in every thing around….telling us again and again if you want it you will find a way to do it….”…loved these lines.
    This post is like a fresh breeze of air in the ‘already-hot-and-humid’ Mumbai!
    It’s soothing…energizing…and motivating!
    I liked the poem a lot, too. 🙂

    Thanks for these lovely words Soma that fill me with joy…the kind of joys that are very rare!

    Reply
    • Lopa you are just too cute and lovely…big hugs..
      Have lived in mumbai for around 4 years so I do know what you must be going through….its damn hot and humid..sticky..there
      Delhi has a dry hot weather ..although for past few days weather has been acting strange..somesay due to northern winds..
      Thanks Lopa
      love n hugs 🙂

      Reply
  22. I love this, the seasons and I love the mountains 🙂 I understand the “web of maya” 🙂 I love this” when you close your senses and soul

    to the world around

    nothing can inspire you”

    It’s just so true. Soma, this is just lovely!! hugs and love, Autumn

    Reply
    • Autumn am so glad you liked it…..i love mountains and rivers..if i had my way, would be living in a small cottage somewhere in the northern hills…..
      Thanks Autumn 🙂
      love n hugs 🙂

      Reply
  23. I use to go camping out in the summer every year when I was much younger. My son stilll goes, but I think he missed this last summer.
    Take it in, Soma! Take it all in and alllow yourself to become one with the earth.
    Lovely post, my friend!

    Love and Hugs, xx

    Reply
    • Oh Deb that image of camping is so cute..you always find the best of the images..Thanks a ton..have been planning and postponing a lot, my daughters school closes for summer vacation in around may7th am definitely going out for at least a week or so..Thanks 🙂
      love n hugs 🙂

      Reply
  24. William Stadler

    The description of the sun in the seasons is awesome! This is poetry-prose. I really like the subtle sense of inviting adventure that it seems nature has in your imagery. Nice work.

    Reply
  25. This is so amazing… can feel the depth and love of nature… rekindled my desire to be living oh so close to the earth… how healing and powerful that is! Much love, Jason

    Reply

Word Hug

