RSS Feed

Dear Winter

Summer has arrived and Sun won’t budge or wear a sun glass. Its on a mission to wring us dry. while the days are hot and humid ,nights play strange games,sometimes giving us some hope of a better tomorrow which never comes.Sitting in the comfort of an air conditioned house I can be as poetic as I want, while outside all the rhymes and free verses are drying up as fast as the greens. And in these times all I can think of is my Sweet sweet winter and the beautiful cozy blankets I once cursed, oh how naive and foolish i have been …..
Oh! winter I request thee please come back 
To err is human cut me some slack
 summer as always is scorching hot
and i have been thinking about you a lot
All we had  was a silly lovers spat
And I was more than willing to work on that.
Then you became too cold and I almost froze
 I needed warmth hence spring I chose.
Spring and me was this one time thing
 It meant nothing, it was a stupid little fling
 I was thinking about you the whole time I swear
 Your absence is killing me, the grief is too much to bear.
You were fantastic, marvelous and cool
Still I went for spring I was a fool
 It lured me with its flowery tranquil gait
But now I know its tricks, albeit a bit too late.
Spring left me high and dry to sulk in this summer
Its horrible and sweaty and life is a bummer
My world is barren no poetry or prose in soul
Angels left with spring and the evil summer is taking its toll
Oh Winter…….

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

75 responses »

  1. Its so hot, I can’t put up any posts!!!! You are truly blessed dear wordsmith! am enjoying myself discovering you through your poetry!

    Reply
  2. Loved this, Soma, and I think as I get older, the colder weather is more appealing. I love summer days in the 70’s, but once it nears 90, I’m toast! Literally! lol Great poem; your humor is contagious and added more sunshine to my day today! Hugs and Blessings! xx

    Reply
  3. Trade one season for another and next thing it’s too late! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh Soma you spoke for me too! Heres its scorching and terribly hot too what with the temps soaring higher and fiercer with each passing day :(. Oh winter, please come back and make my life rosy again…sigh!

    Reply
  5. As much as I hate the heat, I hate the cold even more 🙂
    Red.

    Reply
  6. I noticed a reply that you added here that
    your work is gibberish? Well I think not Soma
    as you always add such in depth pieces of
    writing that are so captivating and full of wonder,
    indeed with so many delightful offerings all I
    can see is a wonderful writer with a very nice
    style my great friend 🙂 🙂 More please…

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  7. Personally I prefer the heat to the cold (probably my anaemia :-))! But at the peak of summer – like now – I am ready to migrate to Siberia!

    Reply
  8. Hello! I wish you a pleasant and serene weekend!

    Reply
  9. The post is wonderful. It’s a hymn to winter. You hate summer with its hot climate.

    Reply
  10. This post wonderful,I smile.Soma verynice day you and your family….smile your daughter
    😉

    Reply
  11. What I like best about the winter is ice skating! Plus the fact that it’s icecold & fresh air when you sleep with the bedroom window open.
    When I was in Delhi/India I remember that many of the houses were cold during the winter, because they weren’t properly isolated.

    Reply
    • I love winter..and yes the construction of lot of houses are such you will freeze in winters and suffocate in summers..they are torture chambers..luckily we got good one here on the out skirts

      Reply
  12. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Aha! Somi I am ready to trade the cold winters in Toronto for heat! Wonderfully written – great to have you around for warmth. Lol. Paradox with the post!!! lol. Hugs sis.

    Reply
  13. but you have AC! whassup wit dat girrrl? love the verse anyway. continue…

    Reply
  14. This reminds me of the lady I encountered a couple of hours after sunrise this morning who was complaining about the “cold” 60 something degree (Fahrenheit) morning. But she readily agreed that we would LOVE such a morning in July or August in the American Deep South! We humans just need to learn to savor what we have RIGHT NOW, don’t we? Soma,you have done an excellent job here, in a very tongue-in-cheek manner, of showing us our foolishness about wishing for this season or that season, instead of enjoying the moment.

    Reply
    • Oh the human heart always wanting the next thing or looking back and sighing at what they have had..you are so right Rose..we need to understand what a blessing it is to have Today
      Thank you so much Rose 🙂

      Reply
  15. Nice change-up, and it is actually beautiful too, great message, very nice rythmn…and moves easily all the way to the end I liked it!

    Reply
  16. Hi,
    I loved this poem, and I read it all with a smile, because here in Australia we are into our Autumn and our hot summers are over if only for a short time, after Autumn we then come into Winter, so yes I smiled, it is so nice to have cooler weather once again. 😀

    Reply
    • OMG Mags you did that on purpose. 😆
      yiikees I am sweating here and you are writing about how pleasant it is there….
      I love Australia…its such a beautiful place..have been to all the port cities there when i was sailing with my hubby..Beautiful place beautiful people 🙂

      Reply
  17. Yes, I like this poem, Soma. I take it it’s a little on the warm side where you are then? It’s Spring here, and wet. Warm one day, cold the next, and wet throughout. Where would we be without the weather? 😉

    Reply
  18. oh, you too have an affair with winter? 😀 Seriously! It has reached 45*C here and I am about to melt.

    Reply
  19. “To err is human ‘ so you think this will save you, fantastic poem on winter, you made it so cool we are looking forward for winter but dear I’m sure if you decide to write on summer you will make it too fantastic that we will wait for summer then. Cartoons are very apt.

    Reply
  20. Very spontaneous my dear! Very apt for an Indian scorching summer! Loved it.
    Oh Soma! I can only imagine how it feels with 110-115 F !!!!
    It’s Kulfi and Lassi time girl 😉 I miss shaved ice pops too!
    Monsoons will bring the heat down if they arrive on time….

    Reply
  21. Pawan Hira (awakeningpsyche)

    This summery season, you are blooming like a spring bird 🙂
    your humor with nature and it’s ways, ferried a smile here.

    and monsoon is yet to arrive, so a long time for winter…lol

    can you imagine how great it feels to read your every post ? I’m in love with your writing.
    keep adding these elements of your persona in verse and stories.
    much love and peace.

    Reply
  22. Really very creative Di….:-)

    Reply
  23. This is awesome! I find myself complaining that it is too hot or too cold! I think I prefer the cold since I can always wear more clothes!
    I am sure this comment is going to your spam. Pull it out please!!!!!!!

    Reply
    • 😆 I write so much crap that wordpress hardly sends anycomment to spam..to them my posts should be sent if at all 😆
      i am already in a minimum clothes phase….seriously inspite of all that heavy clothing winter rules..But if everything went according to my desire.what would I crib about!!
      Thanks Susie 🙂

      Reply
  24. I really thought your poem and your feelings for the seasons was fun. What isn’t fun is the blasted heat you’re having, I wish we could wish really hard to make it go away! Autumn’s magic is a thought…We just never know, she better give it a whirl! 🙂

    Reply
    • Is so hot Gabby its kiling me…morning at times becomes suffocating..and you cant be in AC all the time…times like these i give cold bad looks to anyone who asks for food 😆
      Oh Only Auutums Magic can help me its true..but your fun posts are real soothing too..omg did that rhyme..
      i think i lost my marbles today 😉

      Reply
  25. Love it! Great poem, oh how I love tempetuous Spring and fickle Fall.

    Reply
    • Thanks Scott 🙂
      I know its between these two… that wretched summer i hate so much…hey your comment reminded me of that song…
      I dont remember the singers name will find out later..the song is ..”It’s just that people are so fickle. They fall in love at different angles and really I could lose you. Just as quickly as I’ve gotten you. “

      Reply
  26. I don’t know how much “tongue in cheek” this poem is for you. I truly do love Winter; I love Fall more (cool and crisp, dryer and more colorful); but Summer is not my favorite by a long shot. Though, so far, this year, it has not been too bad. It’s approach has been veiled in rain and cool breezes.
    Scott

    Reply
    • When i wrote this poem a year back..it was a hell of a hot summer day..and to be honest i didnt know it would shape out like this..was just trying to weave some fun in my usual cribbing about seasons…
      I love winters…and summers comes with bag full of things i dont like at all…
      till a few days back summer was pleasant all of a sudden it has developed a nasty attitude…anyways i knew it would be like this…worst is yet to come..sigh!
      Thanks Scott 🙂

      Reply
  27. That winter is gonna make you wait, Soma…Mr. Hard To Get until the end of the year. Don’t pine too painfully 🙂

    Reply
  28. Me like so very much!!!

    Reply
  29. I love the way you expressed your relationships with the seasons, Soma! This poems brought me such a smile!
    Hugs xx

    Reply
  30. Vardhan Patankar

    Wow!

    Reply
  31. love personification. it brings things alive. but i love hot humid summers. i love swimming in humidity and sweating just walking out to the mailbox.

    Reply
  32. I love how you wrote this, Soma 🙂 It’s so cute! I hope you get some rain. Hugs 🙂

    Reply
  33. silentfingers

    Absolutely Soma! Nothing quite like the “flakes” (though I have never kissed one ever) 😉
    Nicely written piece. Brought a gentle smile 🙂
    Much love

    Reply
  34. Nice poem! I loved the way you personified the seasons….!! The ending line is awsm 🙂
    And choice of topic is super CooL….:)

    Reply
    • Aah Varun you are being too kind..its so hot i wonder if all the decent thoughts just left with my sweat…specially the poetic ones..I knew i would crib I never fail my self 😉
      Thanks 🙂

      Reply
      • Haha….seasons don’t affect our creativity….our perception about seasons do!! The poetic thoughts are waves……they keep on oscillating; sometimes with higher frequencies and sometimes with lower frequencies……it’s just that sometimes we are not too energetic to receive their signals……:D
        I hope you get it 😉

        Reply

Word Hug

