RSS Feed

amuse-bouche

read this as a poem
or label it a prose
today i don’t care
all i know it should make sense
horizontally or vertically
all i know
it should touch your soul
≈≈
i was looking for my  muse
in the lush greens
tranquil blues
rustic browns
and found lot of songs
but nothing could quench
my thirst today
nothing could calm my soul
≈≈
and then i went out into the streets
saw a man selling fruits
His face had more wrinkles
than his crushed old cloth
but how beautiful was he
each wrinkle a story
each line a song
yesterday a soldier
today a farmer
love and sacrifice
running in his veins
i met my muse there
i found a reason to smile
read this as a poem
or label it a prose
today i don’t care
≈≈
i saw a little kid walking on road
holding his grandfather’s hand
who was supporting whom
it would have been difficult to tell
both drawing strength
and comfort from each other
and how beautiful was the love
that flowed from one soul to another
through their connected hands
i met my muse there
i found a reason to smile
read this as a poem
or label it a  prose
today i don’t care
≈≈
that lady begging at the signal
smiled when asked 
if that was her daughter
studying under the bridge
Yes said the face
glowing with pride
kept bigger notes in another pouch
saving for daughters new school dress
for next session
oh a mother’s love
i met my muse there
i found a reason to smile
read this as a poem
or label it a prose
today i don’t care
≈≈
today i got more than
i had asked for
today i searched for the pearls
in right shells
read this as a poem
or label it a prose
but today i don’t care
today i am happy
I know you smiled while reading this
i know it touched your heart
i know i wrote well today
i know He was guiding me the whole time
i know tomorrow Will be a scorching hot Sunday
and  i know i will still be smiling a lot
©Somkritya
About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

76 responses »

  1. Soma, I really appreciate the way you celebrate ALL of life and ALL kinds of people and sentiments and character traits and scenes! I am smiling so hugely with happiness at just being alive in your blogging world!

    Reply
  2. That was wonderful! Your right you did make me smile. :+) Beautiful.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 143 « A Frank Angle

  4. This did make me smile, Soma, and it didn’t matter if it were a poem or prose. It was moving and touching. One of my favorites, my friend! Hugs for a great day! xo

    Reply
  5. A really lovely poem Soma.

    Reply
  6. A very vivid glimpse of life on the streets.

    Reply
  7. A really lovely poem. Thank you.

    Reply
  8. So you have been practicing your magic I see. Another gem, great job.

    Reply
  9. Thanks for the prose causing me to smile …. and thanks for the source of your inspiration.

    Reply
  10. So lovely, I can see each person clearly. I can sense the situations and environment. A wonderful, uplifiting poem/prose/joy. Thanks, best 5 minutes I have spent so far today 🙂

    Reply
  11. You are right Soma dear – I did smile when I read this post and your words did touch my heart. You’re a beautiful soul and His instrument of love. My pleasure and privilege to have ‘met’ you. Eric 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Eric, you are such an awesome friend
      hugs 🙂

      Reply
      • Thanks Eric for saying what I wanted to say – I opened the page and fell right on your comment and it is the one I would have made. Really. So, beyond your beautiful words, feelings and spirit Soma, another thank for allowing this meeting with Eric! Instruments never know what they do until .. it is done! The street is such an inspiration, especially in India. I often feel this when I have to go to the baazar in Abu – such an incredible energy and inspiration! Except few days ago after I spent few days at home working on my writing and sites and went out and felt … why am I doing all that … it has nothing to do with life. Love, smiles and gratitude.

        Reply
        • Oh you guys are just too good to me…thank you so much
          and you are so right Federic,people on streets inspire a lot,and i return home humbled and enriched
          Thank Federic 🙂

          Reply
  12. This is such a beautiful poem! It was like being let in on a little secret…It gave me shivers.

    Reply
  13. Great! Yes, I enjoyed it; yes, I smiled; yes, it touched my heart.
    Scott

    Reply
  14. Hi,
    Fantastic, and yes I was and still am smiling. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Fantastic poem Soma! You are truly blessed by the muse!!!
    I loved it and the lyrical flow is amazing dear!!!
    Five stars my dear !!!

    Reply
  16. I do like your style. Enjoyed each passage of illumination and peace that comes from your discovery.
    Sandy O

    Reply
  17. Splendid, Creative, Heart-pulling, Love-filled….you are such a beautiful lovely spirit…and this shows through this prose. One of my favorites of yours. HUGS ~ Sam

    Reply
  18. Oh Soma, it was wonderful whether we choose to call it prose or poetry! 🙂 I certainly was smiling and still am, you write in your own special way and it makes it a joy for us to read! You keep writing and we can all keep smiling, thanks for sharing yet another such a beautiful post…You sure do rock! 🙂

    Reply
  19. peaceful and lovely. Prose or poetry? No matter at all, beautiful though either one.

    Reply
  20. what differs? beauty is never altered being said or simply sung…
    Loved the scenes you drew; sacrifice; love; pride…nicely done
    May you always keep the smile..

    Reply
  21. Beautiful words, Soma.This made me happy…..very nice day Soma
    😉

    Reply
  22. Lovely, it made me smile – a lot! 🙂

    Reply
  23. Thanks for showing us how the little things are actually big things.

    Reply
  24. being happy thats the most important.. and if you are happy then what does it matter what other think or do .. I beleive in that ..

    I loved reading this reminded me of my parents – grand parents and all .. beautiful poem

    Reply
  25. Soma:))) This made me happy…I loved every word of it, and always so happy to see your writing:))

    Reply
  26. Beautiful words, Soma! Poem or prose, who cares…it’s great! Love and Hugs xx

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Deb i wanted to share the things i saw but more than that wanted to send this message what you write is more important that how
      love n hugs 🙂

      Reply
  27. silentfingers

    No, not smiling, Soma. You left me enthralled!! What a perfect piece of writing — touching exactly where it should, with exactly what it should too. Couldn’t stop reading over and over again. Hmm, lady full of surprises! Am so glad I found your insanely sane, adobe 🙂
    Hug!

    Reply
    • You are such a lovely soul thank you so much for reading this,i am still to reach where you are,but am learning from some of the best like you so there is hope 🙂

      Reply
      • silentfingers

        “there is hope” lol… Oh no no Soma. I am willing to exchange what I have with you — just to reach where you are. You’re just versatile 😀

        Reply
  28. Asifa Zunaidha

    Didi., your poem did make me smile, but more than that it gave me comfort in the love of the old man, the grandpa, the kid, the mom… it shines with the brilliance of love that conquers all… Wish you an exciting week ahead… Love to Bonita… 🙂

    Reply
  29. superbbbb…..soma

    Reply
  30. I have been reading you for a while and love your style. Such a simple and heart touching poem, it did make me smile, thank you.

    Reply
  31. some of the days we like to write for ourselves and just dont care what others think….and they turn out to be our best pieces somehow!!!

    Reply
  32. Hi, you can do something great with letters and words… 😉

    Reply
  33. I dont have words to express, Soma..your words do that to me…always! They touch a chord every time I am here! Keep writing the way you do and keep spreading warmth and cheer as always 🙂

    Hugs and loads of hugs! 🙂

    Reply
  34. It is such a nice , beautiful. touching poetry, “I know you smiled while reading this
    i know i touched your heart
    i know i wrote well today ” .Love you and your blog.

    Reply
  35. Thank you, Soma. This is perfect because i’m calling it a night and turning in. Such peace in here. But it is also full of why we write and paint and sing. So much moves us right outside our window or door. We are made to feel and to love. You write that beautifully in here 🙂

    Reply
  36. This is just so beautiful, Soma. I love it!!! You do weave the magic, for real 🙂 I had to read this twice, it just touched my heart . Great and such a well thought out writing! hugs

    Reply

Word Hug

