RSS Feed

The way the words hug…..

 someone in those greens
whispers out my name
throws some words at my feet
tells me to follow the trail
but stuck here
at the crossroads
i don’t know what to do
and then i see a woman
lying in a blood red pool
she looks so familiar
she needs me
this i know
and then a sound stabs me
the voice of a howling crow
i try to run
i try so hard
and i wake up on a bed
is it mine
what time is it
why am i sleeping here
i open the door and meet a sea
waves lapping at my feet
i try to smile but it does not reach my lips
 the sand cuts,i let my feet bleed
it must have hurt i must have cried
but my eyes are so dry
 lost forever 
looking for a symbol of life
in my womb was a soul
a few days from sunlight
and now i don’t feel the rush
he must have seen the world
is he in a cot sleeping
should i go look for him
or shall i first find out
if i am a dead womans dream
some one calls my name
i must follow my dreams…
© somkritya
********
A few days Back i was reading excerpts of Daniel.J. Davis’s Book, Wind River, and the write up was so inspiring that i could not stop my self from weaving the poem i just shared. This poem has nothing to do with the story line and every thing to do with the aura it creates…
The poet must never touch his inspiration – even if he could – it must reside in it’s exalted realm, just out of reach, like the sacred fingertip. If he does touch it, he is no longer a poet – the inspiration falls to earth and becomes human – seeking only, it’s pleasure and craving….
That’s what i tried to do or at least i am hoping i did some justice to what i read
Wind River is about Sarah,about John,in world of 1854, about battle fields,about an isolated village,about a simple red feather…
This Post Today Is Not a Book Review But My Way Of Paying Tribute to a Wonderful, Generous and Passionate Writer Daniel.J.Davis,
A tribute to someone who inspired me to write in a genre which i have till now enjoyed reading. Something in that story,something in his write up hugged me, gave me a warm embrace and though my poem is dark, the feeling was of happiness which only comes from a good read.
As inspiring as it has been, it was tough naming this post and i thought what should I name this post…
shall i name it Sarah’s touch
or Red feather
shall i call it The way the word hugs
or Much needed refresher
shall i name it Clancy’s desires
or the Wind river fire
shall i name it The wind river pass
or The angels ire
Oh you have to read Sarah’s Notebook  to understand why it inspired me so much. The way it has been woven into the story makes it furthermore interesting.
some nuggets from the Part 1
We set out on dreams built on tales of California, a paradise I could hardly imagine, temperate and warm and beautiful. I don’t know why I expected Oregon country to be the same. I guess we just went too far north for the sun to follow.
      ♣♣
And from this frosty window I can see what dreams look like when you find them. They are never what you imagined they would be, but you recognize them just the same.Because you know it’s what you were afraid of.
   ♣♣
He places a pen to paper
Come North! Wind River Awaits!
A Trapper’s Dream! Water, Land, and Gold!
The ink slides from the G as he fills in the outline of the letter and he curses Christ for allowing it to happen.
   ♣♣
Intrigued,want more….But know this before you click the link below…
This is not an ordinary story ,this is a story of a place which doesn’t follow the rules of this planet.
There are places where Sun will not reach ,some call them Godforsaken and even in these places stories and poetry’s will be born.. very dark very different…the dreams and songs in these places will have a different soil and a diferent base tone…
And reading those words you will not know when you will become a part of their lives, you will be those characters and you will feel every thing they felt. Words of Wind River will touch and caress your senses, but be careful some caresses sting and leave scars
may be you should just leave
or may be its already too late for you to go back….
Please Click the link below or the Image above to go to the page where you will find synopsis and links to this story…
Wind River By Daniel J Davis 

Wish you all a lovely weekend and a goodread 🙂

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

73 responses »

  1. You have a natural talent for poetry
    my great friend Soma and what delight
    you offer in the reading of same 🙂 🙂

    Hey be good today or else? 😉 🙂 :p

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  2. Hey there, I just posted an updated version of Wind River – Part 1 on my blog. I was hoping you might take a look and tell me your thoughts. I think I’ve made it better, and a little scarier. I hope so anyway!

    Reply
  3. “and then a sound stabs me
    the voice of a howling crow”
    Brilliant!

    Reply
  4. Inspiring, Soma, end to end! “if i am a dead womans dream…” this line is especially intriguing. And those title ideas conjure up some magical soundscapes! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Your gentle heart personified in this beautiful and powerful poem, dear Somi. I have been away for few weeks and it is an absolute delight to return and catch up to your blog. Inspiring and engaging is your blog darling!

    Reply
  6. The way the words hug… is such an apt name
    you’d always be a winner if writing poetry was a game
    and you are sure to put even the best to shame
    and if touched by you WORDS will never be the same.

    Simply Brilliant!!!

    Reply
  7. I am so in awe of you Soma! That was such a beautiful poem! God bless you 🙂

    Reply
  8. I am tired. But will say Beautiful as always, sweet Soma….the talent seeping through your whispered love. 🙂 Sam

    Reply
  9. Lovely Soma, disturbing in a make me weep way yet at the same time hold me in your arms and protect me restful. Does that make sense?

    Reply
  10. What lovely poetry and visualisation, Soma. I feel held up by your words. Thank you.

    Shakti

    Reply
  11. The verses are scary, dark and ominous and yet holds warmth and light – strange but also like a real dream can be.

    Spontaneity, behold your child – and what a wondrous apparition she is.

    Intriguing, Soma dear – from Eric

    Reply
  12. Pingback: An Honor « Daniel J Davis

  13. What a lovely poem, Soma, and your writing was so tender, telling of how you felt hugged by reading his story…just wonderful and warms me after reading your words! Consider yourself hugged, sister! xoxo

    Reply
  14. Thank you, Soma. For the dark, but lovely poem, and for the lead to a new book.
    Scott

    Reply
  15. Hi,
    A beautiful and very powerful poem, I loved the way you wrote it. I will certainly check out the book it does sound like a great read. 🙂

    Reply
  16. Does Daniel know you wrote this awesome poem?

    Reply
  17. A blogger has mentioned in this commentary track the term “gaurdian angel” – in my eyes a perfect title – for you’re an angel and I always get great benefit from visiting your post – you touch often angelic at the reader’s heart… 😉

    Reply
  18. wonderful poem full of emotions.

    Reply
  19. Very moving poem Soma . It made me cry I rememberd something.
    “in my womb was a soul
    a few days from sunlight
    and now i don’t feel the rush
    he must have seen the world”
    Very touching.

    Reply
  20. Thank you for adding something so beautiful to my world.

    Reply
  21. Very, very moving. Thanks for the link to the book, I will chase this up.

    Reply
  22. in my womb was a soul
    a few days from sunlight

    Wonderful part above, Soma. So much energy in this piece, and so different from a lot of what you post. You got range, girl 🙂

    Reply
  23. “in my womb was a soul
    a few days from sunlight”

    Wonderful part, Soma…So much energy in this piece, and so different from a lot of what you’ve posted. You got range, girl 🙂

    Reply
  24. Piękny wiersz i odważny
    pamiętaj jednak,że nikt tego nie dotknął,
    nikt nie widział,
    nikt z tamtej strony nie wrócił,
    ale mówny…….
    -good luck….

    Reply
  25. you have got me thinking now , godforsaken places .. but how do we know ours is not godforsaken.. no one has seen god .. if we think logically or sicentifically then its all a myth but otherwise it is their 🙂

    and the poem a very beautiful poem .. Dream one shud .. always .. else how will they fulfill their dreams…

    Reply
    • Oh Bikram we do live in a God forsaken place or we have made it so…no one ever saw God but if he was here he must have left quite disgusted with our doings…
      Thank Bikram 🙂

      Reply
  26. Such a sad poem about loss of a child? I think so. Beautiful!

    I have dreamt that I had triplets (at my age) and woke up very relieved it was only a dream! 🙂

    Reply
    • Strange the world of dreams…This piece here reflects what Sarah is going through…
      I am so glad you saw it that way…cos i wanted to see how others will take it what will they see in it..
      Daniel has done a fab job i have only added my twist to it 🙂
      Thank you so much Susie 🙂

      Reply
  27. That is one fantastic poem, Soma…which mean you are too! You are such a wonderful and talented soul so full of love and strength.
    Love and hugs xx

    Reply
  28. starscrutiny

    That’s a beautiful poem.
    🙂

    Reply
  29. Powerful words Soma! Beautifully crafted! And your teaser has piqued my interest. Throwing caution to the winds to go find a copy of ‘Wind River’!

    Reply
  30. Reading you is an addiction…your poetry…your thoughts…so enchanting and so interwoven

    Reply
  31. WORD HUG
    YOU ARE A TOTALLY AMAZING WOMAN WITH BEAUTIFUL PASSION RUNNING THROUGH YOUR HEART – ART
    ALL YOU DO HAS CONVICTION STRENGTH
    CHILD THROUGH WOMAN
    WOMAN THROUGH CHILD
    YOUR STRENGTH INSPIRES ME
    EVERY DAY XO
    CAT

    Reply
  32. Soma, this is so beautiful! You’ve no idea how glad I am that we connected 🙂
    Hugs 🙂

    Reply
    • Shalvika you are one of those writers who is really blessed with the power of word play…i am truly happy that we met..
      thank you so much for this lovely word hug 🙂

      Reply
  33. Soma, I get so much inspiration from reading your poetry! Thank you!

    Reply

Word Hug

