RSS Feed

Frogs can’t dream, but they don’t know it yet, so shhh

Last night I had a weird dream and with every passing minute it became weirder but when I woke up this morning it was all clear.  No, not why I had a weird dream but why the frogs can’t dream.
Oh! sorry let me begin from the very beginning. I aways had a suspicion that frogs can’t dream but never had a proof,  the frogs wouldn’t say anything about it and there was no scientific data or folklore surrounding this. But after last night’s dream in which I was a frog, I finally solved the age-old mystery of  “can frogs dream or not”.
Can you wonderful people guess the reason?
why do you think the frogs can’t dream and what do you think of the reasons below-
1) cos if you can’t talk you can’t dream
2) frogs are slimy and warty and slime & warts are dream reflectors
3) they have webbed feet and those are anti-dream devices
4) how can they dream with all those hisses stalking them, they are light sleepers
5) cos they don’t sleep they meditate
6) if they had dreams that would make them un-frog like
7) cos frogs are stupid
oh come on be a good sport take a guess ..I know the answer but will not reveal now and while you give up sleeping, eating etc trying to solve the puzzle enjoy the song below which as you can see is just words, so you gotta make your own music….
I can only do so much people!
what do you think may be the reason behind this
why oh why do you think frogs cannot dream
oh I wonder I do I do but do you too
why frogs cannot dream
when they get nightmares
 they may shiver
and let out a scream
and the snakes will then know where they are
oh how horrible, how terrible that would be
is this why the frogs cannot dream
oh tell me someone please
why oh why oh why
the frogs cannot dream
ψ
why oh why do you think frogs  cannot dream
oh I wonder I do I do but do you too
why frogs cannot dream
if they see a happy dream
they may start singing
or just let out a happy squeal
and the snakes will then know where they are
oh how horrible,  how terrible that would be
is this why the frogs cannot dream
oh tell me some one please
why oh why oh why
the frogs cannot dream
[oh and as the title says Frogs don’t know anything about all the things I just said
 so please shh]
 

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

64 responses »

  1. Pingback: October News Blues « somkritya | kenthinksaloud

  2. Oh sure, now I’m dreaming leaping frogs!🙂

    Reply
  3. Chuckes all the way from Chennai Soma! Happy to have you back girl🙂

    Reply
  4. Soma, when I was in kindergarten, my friend and I found a huge frog, the size of a dinner plate. We named him Sam and he was so cute. My mom then sewed me a frog in red plaid colors filled with beans of some sort (she could sew anything) and that frog is still in my daughter’s room (she’s 21, but who doesn’t like stuffed animals, right?). Needless to say, very sentimental, not to mention too cute! Anyway, I think if I were a frog I would choose not to dream to avoid and snake confrontations! Hee,hee! Delightful and funny post, as always, sista! Love ya and happy weekend!

    (ribbit)🙂

    Reply
  5. Not true. All frogs dream of being kissed by a princes which initiates the transformation into a prince.

    Reply
  6. Hej Soma the very nice post….😉

    Reply
  7. Love your brilliance … but what about this?

    Reply
  8. Oh I don’t know, I don’t know!! This will drive me crazy until you tell me. How can I possibly sleep tonight now without knowing why frogs can’t dream?!

    Reply
  9. I can disprove the webbed feet being anti-dream devices because I have webbed feet and dream just fine. Mostly I dream about not having webbed feet.

    Reply
  10. This is brilliant thinking but I have just thought
    about something… Don’t tell Miss. Piggy about
    her Kermitt or she will be sooooooooo upset😦

    Actually I always thought that frogs could dream,
    as it is in their reptilian nature to leap, croak and
    more importantly, to jump and that is very useful
    you know, especially on these Hump Days😉🙂 lol

    Have a fun rest of evening my Warrior Princess🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  11. Was just telling your Mom how I missed you. Glad to hear from you again.
    Scott

    Reply
  12. This is fabulous Soma and so funny, as always! Thanks once again for brightening up my day.

    Reply
  13. Oh my God, Soma! You are brilliant!! I can’t stop laughing.
    Oh, I’ve missed you so much!
    Hugs🙂

    Reply
  14. The reason frogs can’t or won’t dream
    is not that with nightmares that they scream
    or with happy dreams that they gleam
    it is because that they have in their bloodstream
    a steady flow of anti dreaming cream.

    Trust you to come up with such beauties Soma🙂

    Reply
  15. If frogs will dream how could they will come in your dream.
    One more reason, they don’t want you to see them dreaming.

    Reply
  16. Cartoon strip is very good.

    Reply
  17. Oh Soma, now you know how much we all missed you. Anly you can come up with all these weird dreams and thoughts. Ist one is wrong because you know our Kutkut couldn’t speak but he dreamed.

    Reply
  18. Frogs can’t dream because their little froggy brains have no dreamabellum.

    Reply
  19. Oh Soma, I have missed you. You make me giggle, laugh and then giggle some more. Thank you for this it was the perfect maraschino cherry on my day!

    Reply
  20. I was mad before reading this because I couldn’t see this post in my reader.
    Now that I have read it I’m friggin’ happy… funny. 2,4,5 are my favorite answers and of course they are the most funniest according to me.🙂
    Loved reading a post by you after so many days🙂

    Reply
  21. Frogs can dream but they keep them quiet. Did you try asking them?

    Reply
  22. LOL I once had a dream about playing footsie with the Queen of England.

    Reply
  23. Hey Soma, coming here after a long time, and as always am leaving with a huge smile on my face! Your words do that to me🙂

    Wonderful post!

    Reply
  24. You put a smile back on my face🙂 No, not just that, you brought laughter bubbling out🙂 And all those bubbles are lazily floating by around me!
    Sometimes I wish I could get a peek inside your head, at this factory of creativity inside!
    Hugs🙂 You are AWESOME!

    Reply
  25. 🙂 hillarious enjoyed the song too! Cheers Soma.

    Reply
  26. The next time I see or hear a frog I will be thinking of this post, and or course you! I love this post, and I love how you are feeling better and back to your ole self again…you scared Cici you know.😉
    Now, lets get back to the frogs. I think that frogs can dream a little but usually of tiny incests, and also that they have much longer tongues to reach them with. But really, I think they only think they dream all that because they are obsessed with eating tiny bugs. So, on that happy little note I would have to say #4 and #5 but for #5 I mean more that they obsess than mediate…so there you have. puzzle complete.

    Glad your back!…I missed ya!
    Love n’ hugs ♥ xoxo

    Reply
  27. Of course, the first commentor is silently rebutting the thought that frogs cannot dream with the video of Kermit the Frog. Kermit had a dream, of going to Hollywood and become a film star. Occasionally I point out that you should write a book, and here is another idea for that! You should do a children’s animal story book, filled with all of your terrific tales of the animals. That would be very cool.

    Reply
  28. I love this Soma and frogs! I have dreamt about fish but don’t remember any about frogs. Now that I said that a whole lot of crazy dream flash backs will probably come back to me! Hahaha!
    Keep on writing these and you will have a whole collection to send off for publication!

    Reply
  29. OH MY GOODNESS ……..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    the next time i see a little frog ————– i am gonna smile so big xxx
    this is sooooooooooo sweet xxxxx
    I won’t tell him or her when i see a frog – i promise xxx
    how do you know if it’s a boy frog or a girl frog ?
    i guess i will have to look that one up xxx
    I am so glad you are back
    xxxxx
    and missed you like a crazy cat xx
    this is for you xx
    RAINBOW CONNECTION🙂 XOXOXOXOXO

    Reply
    • oh man just when i solve one puzzle you give me another one..boy or a girl frog hmm
      lets see we will put it in a disecting tray and cut open the skin and then see whats hiding behind it😆
      hey you got me a rainbow song..you are just the bestestestestest
      and some more🙂
      love ya🙂

      Reply
      • No You are !
        YOU CAME BACK WITH FROGS AND DREAMS :)I AM SO HAPPPPPPPPPPY YOU ARE BACK ………..
        THE RAINBOW CONNECTION
        KERMY – THE HEAD FROG
        SINGING FOR YOU
        FROM HIS MUPPET HEART XOXOXOXO

        Reply
  30. okay shhhhhhhhhhhh is the word, I will keep my mouth shut, but if I do that how will i do what I need to do🙂

    that did not make sense at all , I guess i am becoming a frog myself🙂

    he he he he he This had me smiling.. and Good to see you post🙂 Thank you for the smilessssssssssssssssssssssssss

    Reply
  31. Morning Soma🙂 I have lots of frog babies hopping around the yard and–especially on rainy days) turning up in the house. I had no idea that they were dream-less…Maybe that’s what all that croaky compaining is about…

    Reply
  32. That’s great you’re back…😉

    I think myself that frogs really can dream – I think every male frog dreaming of a sweet princess, who take them up and kiss them… ‘big smile’

    Reply
  33. Giggles giggles and more giggles. Dare I say you are modern day Dr. Seuss🙂. Why oh why can’t frogs dream lol…

    Reply

Word Hug

