RSS Feed

Just a woman…..

I am hot and cool a beautiful bird
that one is dull a shabby  little nerd
lets break them up, lets make them cry
too smart for my liking,lets wring them dry
the smirks and taunts
like ghosts they haunt
oh the girls, oh the boys
their innocent souls
hatred in blood
what have we done
……..
cuss on my lips,rage in my eyes
heart so bitter,how cool despise
an open market, lets get some gun
bang bang bang bang for venge or fun
he is black she is brown
when colour is noun
oh the girls oh the boys
their Innocent souls
prejudiced minds
what have we done
……..
Stalk, abuse or rape
fear in the nape
body wants, body gets
lust drives,money lets
My wants  my passion
fast life in fashion
oh the girls oh the boys
their innocent souls
greed in the genes
what have we done
©SOMKRITYA
For years I  have been reading violence of all sorts in newspaper’s but in past few years violence against kids and by kids have reached an alarming high rate..Its a scary world out there and we need to do something about it…..
You know what…This world needs more kick ass souls,people who are still human, to join hands and work together.
Those who understand you don’t need to love or like a person to help them out ..you help others because you are there and you can.
And because you do not like someone doesn’t give you a right to ridicule them or belittle them.what you do not understand is not necessarily wrong,what you do not follow doesn’t make it small or irrelevant
we have been passing on and giving out negative vibes to our kids,that has to change.
Not only we need to re-shape our selves but also the life we have been providing to our kids.
we need to bring back phantoms,mandrake,tin tins,hardy boys in our kids life, teach our kids friendship,tolerance,and compassion.
we have to make our kids good citizen..not just for you and me but for this whole world.
But along with that we need to teach them self-defense and also how to stand up for each other when time calls
buy boxing kits or whatever you think is appropriate and enroll them in self-defense classes.
there is so much to do and together we can bring the change in this ruthless love starved world
                                                ……………………………………………………….
I always participate in any and every campaign that promotes peace,education and awareness and am constantly looking out for new ways to educate our kids……and so when I chanced upon this book/campaign Leah has started, I decided to join it.
What I love about this book is it’s not just another preach the whole world book…It focuses on  how to be a better more confidant woman. how to be that woman who not only stands for herself but also for her peers.
This book-I AM MORE THAN JUST A GIRL is more like an activity book which I would love to buy for my daughter and gift it to teenagers. It’s about training your thoughts,understanding your soul,your body,protecting it…when i was scrolling through the slide share presentaion i remembered the quote -Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee.

Why not read what the author has to say  about it. 🙂

~WELCOME~

This is not a self-help book. This is a guide that can be used for a young woman’s entire life. Topics include self-defense, domestic violence and bullying, sexual assault, career and education, acceptance of others, stress management, self-expression and beauty and body image. Readers are encouraged to try several creative exercises such as journaling, meditation, and self-expression to bring these important issues into their daily lives.

~Leah

To know more about this book click the following link 

I AM MORE THAN JUST A GIRL

or just scroll through the slide share presentation,Trust me you will not be dissapointed..there are some activities which every mother/teacher needs to educate their daughters/sons/students about.

I Am More Than Just A Girl; Empowered. Informed. Equal

View more documents from ImpowerYou
Leah can also be contacted on her site-IMPOWER YOU
Lets begin by supporting each other and every one who is doing their bit 🙂
“Stand up and fight until you hear the bell,
Stand toe to toe, trade blow for blow
 Keep punching til you hear that final bell,
Show them folks what you know.
Until you hear that bell, the final bell,
Stand up and fight like hell!”
( remember to fight for yourself ,your home,your country,your world….fight doesnt mean war,it means standing up against injustice and cruelty ,standing up and not let a bully ruin even a single life.standing up for each other and be a human )
Wish you all an inspired and blessed weekend 🙂

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

88 responses »

  1. Wonderfully written, powerful and speaks for the truth. I love this piece…

    Reply
  2. Wonderful and inspiring post Soma! Shall check out those links pronto.

    Reply
  3. I like the poem. A lot. I thought we could save the world when I was a sixties flower child, too. We can’t, but we can make a difference one person at a time. I like the analogy of life like a boxing match.

    Reply
    • George first time i read this song/anthem for munster men i was just blown away by the powerful words in it..it has since then inspiring me a lot
      Thanksa ton
      Hugs 🙂

      Reply
  4. Amen, Soma! Wise minds and open hearts!

    Reply
  5. Good work, Soma!
    You’ve put up the message very well. Thank you for telling everyone about the book. I am very keen on bringing it, and would love to gift it to my niece as well.
    A few weeks ago when the show Satyamev Jayate went live, many people made a hullabaloo and sighed that how does it matter. We all know about it, and that nothing is going to change by showing these things on the television. I pity this attitude. Maybe Aamir Khan does not have the authority to take huge steps to bring about actions to curb these violent acts, but what should be appreciated is that he has taken the effort to make us re-think about the society we live in, to dwell questions, and strive for answers. We may keep quiet thinking that it’s not affecting us, but someday somewhere we are going to be in the loop and be affected indirectly.
    Your post is a similar effort, and I want to congratulate you for this.
    Keep spreading the word. I wish I could be like you, dear Soma!

    Love and Hugs. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Blessings to you for the view that transcends people across the globe – that is, the positive side of humanity!

    Reply
  7. Soma, a wonderful and important message no matter where a person resides in the world. I observe more and more a lack of consideration for one’s ‘neighbor’. There has been a break down of how we humans interact with each other. If I’m told’ thank you’ or’please’ by a child at the library, I am bowled over with amazement. One wonders if that isn’t a sign of where things have started to go wrong…are we still working at being a family. You inspire, thank you ~

    Reply
  8. Wow Soma, this is Inspiring…. Purpose-Filled…. Thank you!

    Reply
  9. One report says unlike the old days, proportionally there are more spectators than participants – in sports. This has given rise to the couch potatoes.

    People have taken this into other aspects of their lives. Now when we see a crime committed that is what most do – see. Stand and watch!

    Good post Soma dear – and needs repetition.

    Luv and hugz, Eric

    Reply
    • you are so bang on Eric..more spectators that participants..till something directly affects someone no body wants to get involved….
      You are such a generous soul
      Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  10. As usual, a wonderful post. As a little different – such strength and awesome power stirring in this post. I can tell you are fervent about this one. Don’t blame you. My students were either the bullies or the bullied, for the most part. I had to deal with both. When it occurred that most bullying either came from upbringing (prejudice) or fear (the bully afraid), it was easier to work with; never fun. Helping all. Funny, I play an 18th level Wizard in my new online game. I specialize in Balance/Life. My main duty is going out and helping the group members stay alive while we fight. I enjoy this as much as anything and they (the players) are, usually, very grateful for the help. Makes me happy; makes me feel good.
    Scott

    Reply
    • Oh with so many things going wrong on so many levels whats going on with kids disturebs me the most and we have to do something about it..
      hey i am happy that you are playing that game ,havent had the time but will join it soon

      Reply
  11. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Somi, this is a very significant post — your poem is powerful and a brilliant protest. Yes, we collectively need to address issues and ignite sparks of creative dialogue and spread the need to register changes where women are minimised and prejudiced.
    Love your post! Keep inspiring and lighting many lamps in your journey. Lots of love.

    Reply
  12. Unfortunately, there is far too much of this going on in the world. It would be nice if we could get rid of all the bullies in the world, or make them feel the pain they inflict on others.

    Reply
  13. SENDING YOU SO MUCH LOVE RIGHT NOW XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

    Reply
  14. This is excellent! Even one person can make a difference…

    Reply
    • Thank you so mcuh Susie and you are right even one person cn make a difference and if all those who wish to bring in the change come together there is no reason why we cant …

      Reply
  15. Pingback: Saturday Evening Post | Momma's Money Matters

  16. As you may recall, I have a daughter on the way. I’m already working on how to make her strong, independent and powerful. I want her to be strong enough to laugh off anyone who tries to make her feel less than.

    Reply
  17. Another wonderful poem and post, Soma! An important message.

    Reply
  18. The feeling in your poem captured precisely what Leah is trying to teach against. I agree with Rich. It is less what we have done and more what we have not done. My children are very different from their peers because they learned respect at a human level rather than in terms of careers, money or place in society. All of that begins with knowing who we are on the inside, before we add anything outside our own skins.

    Fantastic post, shared liberally,
    {HUGZ}
    Red.

    Reply
    • Exactly Red..we became mute spectators when we should have stopped them we encouraged their behaviour with not setting right examples….
      we have done everything wrong by choosing not to do anything
      few weeks back a 14 year old kid drove fast in the car parking area and crashed his car against the main water pipe line and what did the his super rich parents do..ther fled away and came back with a lawyer…so taught him escaping instead to doing the right thing….
      Am glad all the lovely people like you,I follow are such beautiful role models to their kids
      Thanks Red 🙂

      Reply
  19. This is superb! Loved the last stanza! Excellent matter to write on! I’m not a part of any organization or committee, but I also intend to spread the awareness at my own level…….the way I do it through my blog posts. I’ll share this post of yours on every site where possible. This is amazing 🙂

    Reply
    • Varun am glad all of us are doing whatever we can at our level, i could join these organisations/campaigns cos i had/have that time..but you are doing a great job by writing and spreading the word….Thank you so much am glad you liked it 🙂
      Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  20. Dear fellow blogger,

    I have nominated you for the sunshine award. Please check out my website http://www.irishabh.wordpress.com for instructions on how to accept. Thanks for your continued support, and amazing work. Keep it up and have a lovely weekend.

    Cheers! 🙂

    Love and Hugs,

    Rishabh Gupta

    Reply
  21. Oh, Soma, this is so powerful and inspirational. You are such a strong soul, with compassion, love and faith. You’re right, it’s a scary world out there and this is a wonderful cause to keep our girls safe. My daughter has learned some self defense and you know as Mothers, we’ll never stop worrying.Thanks for sharing and spreading the word so we can stand together and make a difference! Hugs! xo

    Reply
    • Oh Lauren you are so right about the worrying part..yes we have to do whatever we can to teach them to defend themselves…
      Thank you so much for this lovely comment 🙂
      Wish you a lovely weekend 🙂

      Reply
  22. Very moving and important message today. Wonderful poem. Always a good read no matter when I stop by.

    Reply
  23. -to co piszesz to prawda dziecko staje się juz nie tylko ofiarą przemocy domowej,ale i ekonomicznej,wielcy tego świata nie myślą o dzieciach,a to nasze zycie ,nasza przyszłość i mam tu na myśli nie opikę nad rodzicem ale niż demograficzny———pozdrawiam serdecznie Soma

    Reply
  24. So right that strong, brave-hearted and pure-souled people need to stand up and join hands and fight for the right! I really loved learning about Leah’s activity book and her projects. Thank you, Sister Soma!

    Reply
  25. The poetry….just so good. I could hear the passion of what you believe… Terri 🙂

    Reply
  26. I love the soul of you. This is so inspirational. The starting poem was very effective and stirred a bunch of emotions in me. You have the perfect combination of heart and tiger. Love you so. Thank you for this post. 🙂 Sam

    Reply
  27. are we teaching kids to be violent and angry, or are we not teaching them anything? are we leaving them to their own, animal, feral instincts? are we failing to guide them with “how” and “why” because we just don’t want to spend the time? are we letting them learn too much from tv and streets and friends? are we lazy parents who want want want, and they’re learning from our examples as we yell and berate the customer service person who won’t replace our phone because they said it got wet, and we swear it did not get wet, even though we know it did, but we are accustomed to lying or doing anything to getting what we want when we want it?

    Reply
    • oh so agree with you Rich we have been doing it wrong..kids sure learn by following and we have not been good role models..no matter how much you teach him to be a Gandhi if you are a lying cheating parent he will learn to be just that

      Reply
  28. Soma, “Just a” describes precisely the culture of evil against which the book is directed, and it’s the perfect title to tell readers precisely what the book is going to say. It’s an ironic statement and a good one. Carry on, Soma. You are a voice of reason in an unreasonable world.

    Reply
  29. Pingback: Prose and Poetry Empowers « Impower You

  30. I am so honored to be apart of this post. Your words are so right on. Why are we teaching children to be so awful to one another and to judge so harshly based on appearances or economic status? I think it is mostly laziness and fear of anything different. I suppose that since I grew up in a multicultural and racially diverse family that is something I cannot understand. Doesn’t everybody realize how awesome it is to have family and friends who are different, but still love you?

    Thank you so much Soma. This is one of my favorite book reviews yet. Your words are a great reflection of what I share in my book. I was that girl and young woman that was scared, picked on and assaulted at such a young age that my self esteem was left on the floor of my room every time I let the house. Not until I was about 28 did I start realizing that all this negativity I was living in and telling myself was not my only choice.

    Even though I grew up with a very independent, feminist, loving supportive mom and family, the outside influences of my peers and assorted adults had as much impact. At home I was told how beautiful,smart, and funny I was and I could feel the love. Despite this, I had no confidence when I met obstacles like bullies, oppression, and hatred for just being me. I just hope that the young women who read his book feel empowered and informed. I want young women to feel confident at any age and not wait so long like I did. My book is not the only answer, but it is a start and a ripple that I believe can really create a positive difference.

    Reply
  31. Soma, first of all, i really liked the way you put this: “when colour is noun.” That speaks volumes with only 4 words…

    Also, i think you’ll like these words by Adrienne Rich:

    “We may feel bitterly how little our poems can do in the face of seemingly out-of-control technological power and seemingly limitless corporate greed, yet it has always been true that poetry can break isolation, show us to ourselves when we are outlawed or made invisible, remind us of beauty where no beauty seems possible, remind us of kinship where all is represented as separation.”

    So you keep writing and blogging, Soma 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh i loved those words by Adrienne Rich how profound and true….loved it
      Thank you so much Kathryn i will always remember this quote and your message..
      Hugs 🙂

      Reply
  32. Hi,
    A great poem, and I totally agree, friendship,tolerance,and compassion, needs to be taught as well as respect which a lot of kids to not seem to have these days.

    Reply
  33. SOMA SOMA ………..SOMA ……….
    THIS IS WHAT BEING HUMAN IS ALL ABOUT MY SWEET
    STANDING UP FOR ONE ANOTHER
    YOU HAVE ILLUSTRATED THAT ———— A GAZILLION PERCENNT ..

    ONE FOR ALL AND ALL FOR ONE .
    DOESN’T MATTER COLOUR GENDER WHATEVER
    WE ARE HERE HERE HERE FOR ONE ANOTHER ……
    I AM SENDING YOU A HUGE WORD HUG TODAY ….
    A BIG SQUEEZE …
    IT IS A SCARY WORLD . BUT IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE ……..

    I WAS TALKING / WRITING TO RED LAST NIGHT ABOUT YOU ……
    AND HOW YOU INSPIRE ME SO ……..
    WITH YOUR GENEROSITY OF HEART – SOUL – SPIRIT AND “WORD HUGS ”
    YOU ARE A SOULDIER OF LOVE …….
    SOUL- DIER …XOXOXOXOXO
    LOVE YOU
    C

    Reply
    • CAT YOU ARE SUCH A GENEROUS AND SWEET SOUL….AM BLESSED TO HAVE MET YOU
      YOU ARE SO INSPIRING EVERY WHICH WAY
      LOVE YOU 🙂

      Reply
      • LOVE YOU SO MUCH SOMA ……..
        YOU HAVE GOT LOVE AND FAITH AND DEVOTION AND KINDNESS …….. YOU INSPIRE ME EVERY DAY ……….TO BE STRONG AND KEEP ON GOING AND GOING WITH THAT LOVE XOXOXO

        Reply
  34. Soma, you are a strong woman with a lot of soul and a beautiful heart! I love this post! Thank you for sharing. Love and hugs xox

    Reply
  35. P.S., you are more than just a woman, an activist, a friend, a sister, a mother… a perfect blend of many treasured things!

    Reply
  36. A “Hug” back to you for your beautiful post and the great information you shared! Always part of the world that seeks change to make all lives better!!! You are an angel! Keep moving forward and never stand still…change is always possible when one believes, and your faith is great! Thanks for what you always do Soma!

    Reply
  37. first of all .. I did not like the title why would you want to write “JUST A”.. I dont like that Human being woman or man is A WOMAN or A MAN.. why do we add JUST A to it …

    Although the poem is beautiful and I like the way you have used the words it makes a figure of a lady or shud i say “JUST A LADY” 🙂 there.

    and oh yes i love the idea of having phantom, mandrake back.. 🙂

    Reply
    • Exactly Bikram I find it very irritating when someone says what will she do she is just a girl or just a woman…and that is why i used that unpleasant title. to promote a book that talks about how we all are more than just being what we are…thanks for mentioning it..cos i did want that response…that “just” belittles a human
      Thank you so much 🙂

      Reply
    • It is very limiting. I heard this saying so much growing up. Whether I was playing basketball or getting good grades, everything I did was just average because I was just a girl. It didn’t matter if I succeeded or failed some jerk would tell me that was nice, but… “you should just be nice”, “you should just be quiet”, or “you are just a girl and nothing you do really matters”. It infuriates me still when I hear those words describing anyone like “he’s just a man, what do you expect”(when they assault a woman). I expect to walk down the street without being harassed! It’s an excuse and a put down.

      Reply
  38. Very powerful words, I loved your prose and poetry, the worst one canone can do to a child is to prejudice its mind.

    Reply
  39. loved the poem! “we need to bring back phantoms,mandrake,tin tins,hardy boys in our kids life, teach our kids friendship,tolerance,and compassion.” —- Exactly 🙂

    Reply
  40. This is such a wonderful poem and post Soma, this is a cause we should all be taking up! Together we really can make a difference, I believe! Thanks so much for bringing this to our attention!!

    Reply
  41. What a wonderful poem! This is the sort of thing that is so needed, Soma and you did such an awesome job, so much hate going on in the world. I agree, it starts with one person but we all have to join in and stop this. You know me, I fight for any cause. Great post and keep on believing that someday it can all change, I will 🙂 Hugs

    Reply
  42. Wow……loved this….

    Reply

Word Hug

