RSS Feed

As the story goes…

“Stories are a nutritional group.A balanced diet must have music,stories, outdoor playing along with other groups like vitamins and protiens.”
                                                 -somkritya:-)
As  promised in the previous post of Memoirs-  Magical Summers
I am going to share some stories but since this is going to be
 the very first of the series..it has to be grand…what say:-)
Nothing gives me more pleasure than sharing stories, fictional or real…
specialy through memoir.It gives me a chance to relive those moments
I share with you all, to time travel in my dreams and play around in that magical world.
I come from a family of story tellers, my grandparents,uncles, aunts and parents irrespective of their professions were/are all great story tellers.
All we had to do was to ask..mama kahani sunao na( uncle please tell us a story) or thamma golpo shonao( grandmother tell us a story)
and they would begin a great story telling session- some real and
some fictional ones with great gusto……and it would not only make our days
 but give us great subjects to dream on..
This world is a magical place you know…all packed with mysteries.
you just have to unlock the right door or find someone who can…
and a new song a new story is all yours to enjoy…
And though I love reading books nothing can ever beat listening to stories told by grandmothers or uncles that too the cooked up ones…
Having said that there are some real life stories which have left a deep ever lasting impact on my soul.
One of them was told by my Dadu(Paternal Grandfather). And it was a real story  of my Great Grand Father.
They were zamidars( land lords) of a village Akaipur in 24 parganas in West Bengal and every season after harvesting paddy it would be stored in Dhaner gola( huge mud houses used to store paddy) 
One night my great grand father heard some noise and when he went out in the dark to check he saw some armed tribal men stealing Paddy from one of the bigger dhaner gola….
and the thief was not only stealing but also throwing paddy aiming at eyes of whoever went near to stop him.
My great-grandfather who was somewhere in his 20’s( boy did he have courage)told his men to cover all the exits  so that none of the robbers could escape.
He then wrapped his eyes with a cloth to protect them from paddy being thrown by the thief…..took two swords in his hand and started swishing it around the dhaner gola constantly reminding the thief he would not stop till the thief  surenders….initially the thief who seemed to know my Great Grand father asked him to back off ,threated him of consequences but when my great grand father did not relent ( and this went on for hours ) the thief  finally tired ,stretched his hands out of the small opening and surrendered..
Its said that the thieves( tribals from nearby land) were very well-built and good fighters themselves but when asked later why they didn’t escape or fight , the chief of that group said he had never seen such a gutsy young man in his life and out of respect he didnt cause my great grand father any harm.
what a story haan..Even today I get goose bumps whenever my father tells me the story..
whenever I hear such stories I try to imagine how that person must have looked like and if some movie hero fits the bill but this one story the image has no face…
no face has till now been able to do justice to the brave spirit of  this young man…may be because he was real..maybe putting a face would somehow notch down the magic…
how I wish I could go back in time and meet him….see my great-grandfather in action..understand where I am coming from, see the history of my parents….
I am so proud of my forefathers and more I find about their lives more I want to go back and meet the ones I did not…
may be one day there will be a time machine, may be one day this magical land of stories will bless me with a chance meeting……
But this story definitely explains the brave soul and spirit of my Father..who won several bravery awards for saving lives ,diffusing live detonators..
Both my parents are just awesome people who never hesitated standing for what is right …
Bravery runs in my Fathers blood and as for my moms brave spirit … I havent yet told you about her side…one day I will…
And I am their daughter:-)

About Soma Mukherjee

I often say things that put me in a jam, Jams go well with Buttered Toasts, Toasts are great hosts, Ghosts not so much, Although they can dance, Not all dancers are serial killers, Serial killers do not use Body bags that often, body bags aren't leak proof, Proof is in the Pudding.

19 responses »

  1. All families have such electrifying ancestral anecdotes….enjoyed it thoroughly

    Reply
  2. Another wonderful tale…and this time a really really brave one!!
    Hats off to your great grandfather!
    His spirit is much to be learnt from and followed!
    You know what…as I am reading your memoirs it gives me a feeling I am little Lopa again…and listening to ‘golpos’again. 🙂
    Thanks for being such a lovely Soma!!

    Reply
  3. Raven of Leyla

    I like this story Soma. I have always enjoyed hearing stories of my forefathers and stories of others too! I think they remind us who and where we come from.

    Your Great Grandfather was a brave and bold man who stood up to those who would steal. That is a courageous act that I admire.

    Great story!

    Raven 😉

    Reply
  4. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Qudos! Enjoyed it. keep penning….Love, Shaheen

    Reply
  5. So wonderful to hear your touching stories of family and life. Beautiful work my friend!

    Reply
  6. Yes, a wonderful story teller, indeed, Soma! It would be interesting to hear more about your Mother, too, someday~ Hugs, L

    Reply
  7. Potentialities in you to express the factual happenings which you might have heard from your Thamma (grand mother) say about 20 years back ,is really amazing.The pictorial of Dhaner GOLA,took me back to my child hood and to my schooling days. Thank you Soma for helping me in going down my memory lane and be with my acquaintance for a while.
    Let your journey to the past through recollection of events bring many more happy moments to all of us (ex participants)and also to the readers. I am sure your great grand father late Satya charan,might be showering blessing on you for your humble obeisance in offering a grand salute through remembrance. A GRAND START through GREAT GRAND FATHER.

    Reply
  8. You’ve got the gift too, of storytelling, among the multitude you express through this space! Looking forward to more!

    Reply
  9. You certainly can tell a wonderful story…You should write books.

    Hugs, xx

    Reply
  10. Wow, really well done Soma! By the way, I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Candle Lighter Award and you should get a pingback to my post. If you don’t, you can find it here:

    Handing It Off To My Dream Catchers


    Grab the award and post it. No requirement that I know of on how many people you give it to
    peace, love and blessings, Terri

    Reply
    • Wow Terri cant thank you enough..your blog is so inspiring and every page and post is a reflection of the warm lovely generous person that you are ….coming from you means a lot hugs:-)

      Reply
  11. Wow, what a great story teller you yourself are .

    Reply
  12. This was very interesting, as well as enjoyable reading Soma. You come from a family of story tellers is awesome, it is magic being able to share the memoirs. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Gabby Yester day when I was writing this post and took a break …saw yours about the house and the memories it filled me with so much happiness….i am so glad you liked it thanks:-)

      Reply

Word Hug